by Nelson Freire


$14.54 $16.99 Save 14% Current price is $14.54, Original price is $16.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 22


The legendary Brazilian pianist Nelson Freire specializes in the 19th century and has turned to recording Bach in his eighth decade, apparently for the first time. All you can say is that it was worth the wait. His Bach is typically restrained, not unaware of the long tradition of Bach piano performances, but decidedly unlike anyone else's approach. In general, Freire is pianistic without applying a lot of pedal. It's there, but it applies only the slightest shades, and it can fade away quickly. Instead, Freire applies a great variety of attacks and textures, all subtle and well considered. The program falls into three parts, the first two interlocking. There is a pair of big quasi-improvisatory pieces, the "Toccata in C minor, BWV 911," and the "Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue in D minor, BWV 903." These don't get their usual epic quality, but they get something else instead: an uncanny, even spooky interiority, an entrée into their existence as improvisatory works. There are two dance-suite pieces, the "Partita No. 4 in D major for keyboard, BWV 828," and the "English Suite No. 3 in G minor, BWV 808." These have little in the way of dance rhythms, but much that reflects the French origin of the style: the music is ornate, complex, fascinatingly closed in. At the end everything relaxes into beauty, with Bach's arrangement of a concerto movement by Marcello and then a series of chorale preludes, ending with the Myra Hess transcription of "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring," from the "Cantata No. 147." These are limpid and really transcendent. Freire is backed by excellent unfussy engineering from Decca at the Friedrich Ebert-Halle (also the recording site of the first Beatles album), and the end result is a short Bach program to treasure.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/2016
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947884491
catalogNumber: 002457802
Rank: 104169


  1. Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147 (BC A174): Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring
  2. Prelude and Fugue, for organ in G minor, BWV 535 (BC J23): Prelude
  3. Nun komm der Heiden Heiland (II), chorale prelude for organ (Achtzehn Choräle No. 8), BWV 659 (BC K82)
  4. Komm, Gott Schöpfer, heiliger Geist (III), chorale prelude for organ (Achtzehn Choräle No. 17), BWV 667 (BC K90)
  5. Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ (I), chorale prelude for organ (Orgel-Büchlein No. 41), BWV 639 (BC K68)
  6. Concerto for solo keyboard No. 3 in D minor (after Alessandro Marcello), BWV 974 (BC L194): Adagio
  7. Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue, for keyboard in D minor, BWV 903 (BC L34)
  8. English Suite, for keyboard No. 3 in G minor, BWV 808 (BC L15)
  9. Toccata for keyboard in C minor, BWV 911 (BC L142)
  10. Partita for keyboard No. 4 in D major, BWV 828 (BC L4)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews