Back to Us

Back to Us

by Rascal Flatts


$12.79 $13.99 Save 9% Current price is $12.79, Original price is $13.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18


If the title of Back to Us suggests that the three members of Rascal Flatts have decided to ditch everything extraneous and return to their roots, well, that's intentional. Upon its spring 2017 release, Jay DeMarcus claimed in the press release, "There was a nostalgic feeling between the three of us while in the studio for this record, a feeling that was more reminiscent of our first albums," a move that might've been necessary after the band's sly modernization on 2014's Rewind. That album was recorded with producer Howard Benson -- whose best-known collaborations include Kelly Clarkson, 3 Doors Down, and DAUGHTRY -- who perhaps gave the record too bright a crossover sheen, but Back to Us finds the group collaborating with busbee, the producer who helmed Maren Morris' excellent 2016 debut, Hero. Back to Us isn't nearly as ambitious as Hero -- there's not a trace of hip-hop in its rhythms, although there is some R&B -- but busbee helps push the veteran trio toward a hipper adult contemporary. The shift is crystallized on "Vandalized," a song co-written by neo-outlaw sensation Chris Stapleton and Luke Laird: it's a soul song at its heart, so busbee gives its verses a nimble modern R&B flair, but Rascal Flatts straighten out the song by its chorus. No matter how many feints toward modernity the trio makes -- another is the Lauren Alaina duet "Are You Happy Now" -- the group remains cheerfully square, prizing gentle melodies, slick harmonies, and shiny surfaces. That's been their specialty since 2000, and Back to Us delivers the goods just as reliably as any of the nine albums they've released since.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/19/2017
Label: Big Machine Records
UPC: 0843930029761
catalogNumber: 0400
Rank: 9010

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rascal Flatts   Primary Artist
David Angell   Violin
Jeff Bailey   Trumpet
David Davidson   Violin
David Dorn   Keyboards
Chris McDonald   Trombone
Steve Patrick   Trumpet
Kristin Wilkinson   Viola
Jay DeMarcus   Synthesizer,Banjo,Bass,Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Moog Bass
Jim Riley   Drums
Dorian Crozier   Drums
Joe Don Rooney   Electric Guitar
Jimmy Bowland   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Rob McNelley   Electric Guitar
Travis Toy   Steel Guitar
Zeneba Bowers   Violin
Betsy Lamb   Viola
Carole Rabinowitz   Cello
Danny Rader   Acoustic Guitar,Bouzouki,Mandolin
Evan Hutchings   Drums
Dave Cohen   Keyboards
Conni Ellisor   Violin

Technical Credits

Derek Bason   Engineer
Chris McDonald   Horn Arrangements
Greg Wells   Composer
Kristin Wilkinson   String Arrangements
Neil Thrasher   Composer
Andrew Dorff   Composer
Jay DeMarcus   Composer,Programming,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Wendell Mobley   Composer
Steve McEwan   Composer
Blair Daly   Composer
Rascal Flatts   Producer
Benjy Davis   Composer
Joe Don Rooney   Composer
Gary LeVox   Composer
Chris DeStefano   Composer
David Hodges   Composer
Sean Neff   Engineer
Cary Barlowe   Composer
Troy Verges   Composer
Sean McConnell   Composer
Becky Reiser   Art Direction
Daniel Smyers   Composer
Luke Laird   Composer
Chris Stapleton   Composer
Jonathan Singleton   Composer
Jesse Frasure   Composer
Sandi Spika Borchetta   Art Direction
Casey Brown   Programming
Josh Thompson   Composer
Steven Lee Olsen   Composer
Shay Mooney   Composer
Travis Hill   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews