Ballads, Blues & Big Bands: The Best of Nancy Wilson

Ballads, Blues & Big Bands: The Best of Nancy Wilson

by Nancy Wilson



One of the great modern song stylists, Nancy Wilson effortlessly blends her jazz know-how with a hefty dose of pop-soul touches. Her prime came in the '60s, when she cut a wealth of generally fine albums for Capitol. This three-disc set goes a long way in putting that period into perspective, containing as it does 60 of her best sides. The bulk here covers classic standards territory, with highlights including "The Masquerade Is Over," "The Good Life," and "Little Girl Blue." And, yes, there are plenty of ballads, blues (of the lite variety), and big bands (compliments of Oliver Nelson, Jimmy Jones, Gerald Wilson, and Billy May). There are also some fine sides featuring pianist George Shearing, taken from their excellent The Swingin's Mutual! record. For those interested in delving beyond the confines of single-disc roundups of the same material, this healthy package definitely won't disappoint.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/30/1996
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724383488629
catalogNumber: 34886


Disc 1

  1. The Best Is Yet to Come
  2. Sophisticated Lady
  3. Close Your Eyes
  4. When the World Was Young
  5. Since I Fell for You
  6. The Nearness of You
  7. My One and Only Love
  8. A Sleepin' Bee
  9. Glad to Be Unhappy
  10. If He Walked into My Life
  11. Never Let Me Go
  12. Fly Me to the Moon
  13. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  14. Don't Go to Strangers
  15. When a Woman Loves a Man
  16. It Never Entered My Mind
  17. Call Me Irresponsible
  18. Willow Weep for Me
  19. Sufferin' With the Blues
  20. When the Sun Comes Out

Disc 2

  1. Little Girl Blue
  2. I'll Only Miss Him When I Think of Him
  3. Oh! Look at Me Now
  4. Someone to Watch over Me
  5. On Green Dolphin Street
  6. Midnight Sun
  7. Our Day Will Come
  8. Like Someone in Love
  9. You Can Have Him
  10. Angel Eyes
  11. You Ain't Had the Blues
  12. When He Makes Music
  13. The Masquerade Is Over
  14. When Did You Leave Heaven?
  15. You Don't Know What Love Is
  16. Satin Doll
  17. This Bitter Earth
  18. Supper Time
  19. Tonight May Have to Last Me All My Life
  20. What a Little Moonlight Can Do

Disc 3

  1. I Want to Be with You
  2. The Very Thought of You
  3. In the Dark
  4. All Night Long
  5. By Myself
  6. In a Sentimental Mood
  7. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You
  8. Days of Wine and Roses
  9. You Don't Know Me
  10. Guess Who I Saw Today
  11. The Song Is You
  12. Lush Life
  13. When Sunny Gets Blue
  14. I Believe in You
  15. The Good Life
  16. Try a Little Tenderness
  17. The Things We Did Last Summer
  18. Here's That Rainy Day
  19. What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?
  20. But Beautiful

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nancy Wilson   Primary Artist,Vocals
Billy May   Conductor
Oliver Nelson   Conductor
Gerald Wilson   Conductor
Kenny Dennis   Conductor
Sid Feller   Conductor
Jimmy Jones   Conductor
Milt Raskin   Conductor

Technical Credits

George Shearing   Contributor,String Arrangements
Sacha Distel   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Bob Norberg   Remixing
Jack Reardon   Composer
Pete Welding   Liner Notes
Brad Benedict   Producer
Wayne Watkins   Executive Producer
Tommy Steele   Art Direction
Devin Franchino   Contributor,Editorial Coordinator
Teddy "Cherokee" Conyers   Composer
Marvin Fisher   Composer
Jack Segal   Composer
Philippe Gerald Block   Composer
Lloyd Pemberton   Composer
Angele Vannier   Composer
Bart Howard   Composer
T. B. Harms   Composer
Michel Philippe-Gérard   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews