Barbershop 2: Back in Business

Barbershop 2: Back in Business


View All Available Formats & Editions
2 New & Used Starting at $12.96


If they put the Barbershop 2 soundtrack out with only the first three tracks and nothing else, it would still be an essential collection of urban beats and you'd still be a sucker if you didn't pick it up. The empowering "Not Today" is a home run for Mary J. Blige, Eve, and producer Dr. Dre while Mya's coy "Fallen" gets winningly roughed up in a remix. Sleepy Brown's loopy "I Can't Wait" tops them all with absolutely stellar lyrics ("You're a Tyner/Meaning the real McCoy") while OutKast's guest spot shows their Midas touch is still in effect. The Clipse's vacant cut screws up the flow, but the collection recovers with Keyshia Cole's smoky interpolation of Luther on "Never." Some killer tracks by Mya and Sean Paul, Floetry, Olivia, and Morgan Smith are dispersed throughout the disc's second half, and they're surrounded by cuts that are almost as worthy. The hilarious bits of dialogue that opened and closed the first movie's soundtrack are unfortunately gone, making the whole collection feel like a slick mixtape you'd have a hard time topping. It'll take you forever to stop playing the opening triple threat, but the rest of Barbershop 2 only needs a little trimming. [Barbershop 2 was also released in a "clean" edition, containing no profanities or vulgarities.]

Product Details

Release Date: 02/03/2004
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0602498616994
catalogNumber: 000194602

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sandra Billingslea   Violin
Ron Fair   Percussion
Eileen Folson   Cello
Clark Gayton   Trombone
Gary Grant   Horn
Jerry Hey   Horn
Queen Latifah   Guest Appearance
Organized Noize   Drums
RZA   Track Performer
Luis Resto   Keyboards
Dave Robbins   Keyboards
Shorty B.   Bass
Maxine Roach   Viola
Craig Love   Guitar
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Brandon Bennett   Vocals,Background Vocals
Tal Herzberg   Bass,Guitar
Olivia   Vocals
Samuel Christian   Vocals,Background Vocals
Ravi Best   Trumpet
Patrice Bowie   Background Vocals
Mýa Harrison   Background Vocals
Michael Chavarria   Bass,Guitar
Marques Johnson   Bass
Cheron Wilson   Keyboards
Cecilia Hobbs Gardner   Violin
Steve King   Bass,Guitar

Technical Credits

Ice Cube   Producer,Executive Producer
Shuggie Otis   Composer
Dr. Dre   Producer
Nick Ashford   Composer
Mary J. Blige   Engineer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Eve   Producer
Ron Fair   Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Richard Gibbs   Composer
Charnessa Jones   Engineer
Organized Noize   Programming,Producer
Valerie Simpson   Composer
Doug Wilson   Engineer
Wu-Tang Clan   Additional Music
L.A. Hill   Composer
Kevin Veney   Composer
Georgeanna Tillman   Producer
Havoc   Producer
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Horn Arrangements
Steve Sola   Engineer
Lil Jon   Producer
Anita Camarata   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Pharrell Williams   Composer
C.J. Ward   Composer
Andre Young   Composer
Joe Stone Street   Engineer
P. Brown   Composer
Neptunes   Producer
Carlisle Young   Engineer
Chad Hugo   Composer
Paul Gregory   Engineer
Mike Anzel   Engineer
D. Moore   Composer
Soul Diggas   Producer
Ronald B. Gillyard   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Jennifer Bryan   Costume Design
Andrew Coleman   Engineer
C. Jenkins   Composer
Tal Herzberg   Engineer
Errol "Poppi" McCalla   Producer
Donnie Scantz   Engineer
Vada   Vocal Producer
Denaun Porter   Composer,Producer,drum programming
B. James   Composer
Stereotypes   Producer
Iceberg   Vocal Producer
Mass Confusion   Producer
Jason Schweitzer   Engineer
Darren "Limitless" Henson   Producer
Megahertz   Producer
B. Bennett   Composer
Michael Strange   Engineer
Sha Money XL   Producer,Engineer
Chris Carmouche   Engineer
Kendu Isaacs   Engineer
Mýa Harrison   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Kyla Miller   Producer
R. Arthur Johnson   Composer
Stizzle   Producer
Cedric The Entertainer   Producer
Keyshia Cole   Composer
Shannon Braxton   Engineer
Thomas J. Busch   Liner Note Producer
Michael Chavarria   Engineer
Poppi Keyshia Cole   drum programming
Harry Lennix   Producer
Corte Ellis   Vocal Producer
Kejuan Muchita   Composer
Matt Alvarez   Executive Producer
Boston   Engineer
Mark Brown   Executive Producer,Creation
Michael Ealy   Producer
Jerome "Nobody" Foster   Producer
Troy Garity   Producer
Alex Jr. Gartner   Producer
Tim Hook   Engineer
Leonard Earl Howze   Producer
Robb Wilson King   Production Design
King Klay   Producer
Scott Kleiklack   Engineer
MMCK   Engineer
Jody Piecka   Package Production
Don D. Scott   Writer
Brian "Flostein" Slade   Engineer
Daune "Daroc" Smith   Producer
Kevin Rodney Sullivan   Director,Executive Soundtrack Producer
Tsuyoshi Tatakayanagi   Producer
Robert Teitel   Producer,Executive Soundtrack Producer
Sean Patrick Thomas   Producer
George Tillman   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Jeff Verb   Engineer
Eric White   Engineer
Polow da Don   Producer
Steve King   Engineer
Bruce Miller   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews