Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra, etc. [Hybrid SACD]

Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra, etc. [Hybrid SACD]

by Fritz ReinerFritz Reiner


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


While most concertos feature a solo instrument -- or sometimes several soloists -- accompanied by an orchestra, in this concerto the orchestra itself is the star. The Concerto for Orchestra is not a mere showpiece, however. The technical challenges always serve a musical purpose, whether it's to create the sad and delicate weblike strands of the "Elegy" or the delirious dance of the finale. "Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta," which uses a smaller ensemble, is perhaps even more potent. The first movement is a fugue that builds slowly and powerfully. The second movement and the finale are rhythmic and wild, yet tightly coiled. The eerie use of xylophone and other percussion in the third movement influenced many film music composers -- particularly in the horror genre. Fritz Reiner, Hungarian by birth, was a marvelous interpreter of Bartók's music. These performances are classics, noted for their superb early-stereo-era sound that captures the supreme virtuosity of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in its prime.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/2004
Label: Rca
UPC: 0828766139020
catalogNumber: 61390
Rank: 572


  1. Concerto for Orchestra, Sz. 116, BB 127

    1. Introduzione: Andante non troppo; Allegro vivace  (10:01)
    2. Giuoco delle coppie: Allegrotto scherzando  (06:03)
    3. Elegia: Andante non troppo  (07:59)
    4. Intermezzo interrotto: Allegretto  (04:15)
    5. Finale: Pesante; Presto  (09:05)
  2. Music for Strings, Percussion & Celesta, Sz. 106, BB 114

    1. Andante tranquillo  (07:05)
    2. Allegro  (07:03)
    3. Adagio  (06:58)
    4. Allegro molto  (06:50)
  3. Hungarian Sketches (Magyar képek), for orchestra, Sz. 97, BB 103

    1. An Evening in the Village  (02:44)
    2. Bear Dance  (01:41)
    3. Melody  (02:05)
    4. Slightly Tipsy  (02:17)
    5. Swineherd's Dance  (01:57)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews