Beach Boys' Party! Uncovered and Unplugged [Deluxe]

Beach Boys' Party! Uncovered and Unplugged [Deluxe]

by The Beach BoysThe Beach Boys


$22.53 $24.99 Save 10% Current price is $22.53, Original price is $24.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Capitol, which had already released ten Beach Boys albums in three years, was bugging the group for product that it could release in time for the 1965 Christmas season. To buy time while Brian Wilson began conceiving the Pet Sounds masterpiece, the group issued a set of covers, featuring '50s rock and R&B hits they had listened to as schoolboys, plus some newer sounds. Packaged as if it had been recorded at an actual party, it was in fact recorded in the studio over a few sessions, with friends, family and romantic partners adding sounds and vocals to create an informal atmosphere. With the exception of a bass guitar, all the instruments were acoustic; the acoustic guitar-and-bongo arrangements, in fact, give this a hootenanny campfire feel. Since its release, this album has gone up a few notches in critical esteem, praised for its loose, casual feel and insight into the group's influences. Realistically, though, its lasting appeal lies mostly with dedicated fans of the group, as fun and engaging as it is. It does have the massive hit "Barbara Ann," which actually features Dean Torrence (of Jan & Dean) on much of the lead vocals; other highlights include a rousing run through "Mountain of Love," an unexpected version of "The Times They Are a-Changin'" sung by folk fan Al Jardine", and three Beatles covers. [The 2015 reissue of the album collects everything recorded at the sessions for Party! along with a remastered version of the original album. Along with many, many snippets of dialog that feature the Boys cutting up and cracking wise, there are multiple takes of the songs that feature on the final album (sans crowd noise, as are the rest of the session takes) and quite a few that didn't make the final cut. Mike Love's versions of Dylan's "She Belongs to Me" and Sonny Bono's "Laugh at Me," takes of "Ruby Baby," "(I Can't Get No (Satisfaction)," "Blowin' in the Wind," and their own "California Girls" and "Don't Worry Baby," among others, were deemed not up to par. It's a lot to wade through, but if you really love the Party! sessions, it's time well spent. As a bonus, with a little detective work, one can piece together the original album minus the party sounds from the various sessions.]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/20/2015
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602547517630
catalogNumber: 002385302


Disc 1

  1. Hully Gully
  2. I Should Have Known Better
  3. Tell Me Why
  4. Papa-Oom-Mow-Mow
  5. Mountain of Love
  6. You've Got to Hide Your Love Away
  7. Devoted to You
  8. Alley Oop
  9. There's No Other (Like My Baby)
  10. I Get Around/Little Deuce Coupe
  11. The Times They Are a-Changin'
  12. Barbara Ann
  13. Let's Get This Party Rolling
  14. I Should Have Known Better
  15. Ruby Baby
  16. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
  17. Hully Gully
  18. Blowin' in the Wind
  19. The Sunrays
  20. Ruby Baby
  21. The Masked Phantom
  22. Hully Gully
  23. Carl, Go Get Your Bass
  24. Hully Gully
  25. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
  26. That's a Bad Guitar
  27. Ruby Baby
  28. What's the Matter, Carl
  29. Ruby Baby
  30. Carl's Tires
  31. I Should've Known Better
  32. I Should've Known Better
  33. Wasn't That Great Folks?
  34. Tell Me Why
  35. Don't Worry Baby
  36. You've Got to Hide Your Love Away
  37. Little Deuce Coupe
  38. California Girls

Disc 2

  1. She Belongs to Me/The Artist (Laugh at Me)
  2. Fooling Around: Hang on Sloopy/You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin’/Twist an
  3. Riot in Cellblock No.9
  4. Fooling Around: The Diary
  5. I Think We Better Do This Next Week
  6. Let's Cook Now and Eat Later
  7. Tell Me Why
  8. I Should Have Known Better
  9. What I Want to Do
  10. Are We Still in the Party?
  11. Mountain of Love
  12. Where's Denny?
  13. Devoted to You
  14. What Are You Doing Now
  15. You've Got to Hide Your Love Away
  16. This Phony Party /Ticket to Ride
  17. Alley Oop
  18. Alley Oop
  19. Tune It Like It Is
  20. There's No Other (Like My Baby)
  21. There's No Other (Like My Baby)
  22. Do the Splits
  23. Devoted to You
  24. Devoted to You
  25. You've Got to Hide Your Love Away
  26. I Get Around
  27. Little Deuce Coupe
  28. Mountain of Love
  29. Ticket to Ride
  30. Riot in Cell Block No. 9
  31. The Artist (Laugh at Me)
  32. One Kiss Led to Another
  33. You've Got to Hide Your Love Away
  34. You've Got to Hide Your Love Away
  35. What Did You Stop Us for Chuck?
  36. The Times They Are a-Changin'
  37. Fooling Around: Heart and Soul/Long Tall Sally
  38. Foooling Around: The Boy From New York City
  39. Smokey Joe's Cafe
  40. I Got One More
  41. Barbara Ann
  42. Barbara Ann
  43. Barbara Ann

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Beach Boys   Primary Artist
Brian Wilson   Bass,Piano,Bongos,Vocals
Bruce Johnston   Electric Bass,Vocals
Mike Love   Vocals
Carl Wilson   Bass,Vocals,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Hal Blaine   Bongos
Billy Hinsche   Harmonica
Jardine   Vocals,Soloist,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Dennis Wilson   Harmonica,Bongos,Castanets,Vocals,Soloist
Marilyn Wilson   Vocals
Terry Wilson   Tambourine
Dean Torrence   Vocals
Ray Avery   Bongos
Steve Korthoff   Bongos,Tambourine
Ron Swallow   Tambourine

Technical Credits

Neil Sedaka   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Mick Jagger   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Brian Wilson   Composer,Producer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Barry Mann   Composer
George Davis   Composer
Phil Spector   Composer
Frank Loesser   Composer
Don Blake   Engineer
Chuck Britz   Engineer
Boudleaux Bryant   Composer
Wes Farrell   Composer
Dallas Frazier   Composer
Howard Greenfield   Composer
Mark Linett   Liner Notes
Phil Medley   Composer
Keith Richards   Composer
Fred Smith   Composer
John Taylor   Composer
Cynthia Weil   Composer
Carl White   Composer
Bert Russell   Composer
Richard Penniman   Composer
Tom Bejgrowicz   Layout
Robert "Bumps" Blackwell   Composer
Enotris Johnson   Composer
Leroy Bates   Composer
Fred Fassert   Composer
Alfred Frazier   Composer
Alan Boyd   Liner Notes,Session Research
Susan Lavoie   Art Direction
Mike Stroller   Composer
Turner Wilson   Composer
Harold Dorman   Composer
Craig Slowinski   Liner Notes,Session Research
Clifford Goldsmith   Composer

Customer Reviews