Beasts of Burgundy

Beasts of Burgundy

by Squirrel Nut ZippersSquirrel Nut Zippers


$11.27 $11.99 Save 6% Current price is $11.27, Original price is $11.99. You Save 6%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Jimbo Mathus and Chris Phillips revived the Squirrel Nut Zippers in 2016 for a tour celebrating the 20th anniversary of their breakthrough album, Hot. Turns out, the pair liked this new lineup, so they decided to head into the studio to record an album while the band was hot. Mathus decided that the album -- the group's first in 18 years -- should be designed as a tribute to New Orleans, the city that inspired SNZ's music, not to mention Mathus' fondness for the old, odd America. Beasts of Burgundy does indeed jump and swing in a manner that unmistakably belongs to the Crescent City, particularly the hot dance and Dixieland of the early part of the 20th century. The Squirrel Nut Zippers may rely on old sounds but their perspective is distinctly modern: witness "Rusty Trombone," a novelty that's every bit as lewd as its title promises. By not playing this old-timey music straight, the Squirrel Nut Zippers emphasize its inherent wildness and weirdness. Mathus' songs are populated by characters who are larger than life -- or, as the opening salvos calls it, a "Conglomeration of Curious" -- which lends Beasts of Burgundy a certain appealing strangeness, but the content of the song gets overshadowed by how the band cooks. SNZ lean into the careening tempos of the uptempo shuffles and blues, then lay back to make the slower songs feel louche and languid, and by switching gears so effortlessly, the album seems to speed through its 12 songs. More than anything, it's that musicality that makes Beasts of Burgundy a pleasure: it's evidence the group has gotten better and slier during its hiatus.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/23/2018
Label: Southern Broadcastin
UPC: 0829707984532
catalogNumber: 83067
Rank: 34127

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Squirrel Nut Zippers   Primary Artist
Leslie Martin   Piano,Group Member
Jimbo Mathus   Group Member
Chris Phillips   Percussion,Group Member
Charlie Halloran   Trombone,Group Member
Tamar Korn   Vocals,Group Member
Henry Westmoreland   Group Member
Kris Tokarski   Piano,Group Member
Sick   Group Member
Cella Blue   Vocals,Group Member
Dave Boswell   Group Member
Neilson Bernard   Drums,Group Member
Tamara Nicolai   Bass,Group Member
Colin Myer   Trombone,Group Member
Vanessa Neimann   Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Mike Napolitano   Engineer
Jimbo Mathus   Composer,Producer
Charlie Halloran   Composer
Bronson Tew   Engineer
Henry Westmoreland   Composer
Sick   Producer
Colin Myer   Composer

Customer Reviews