Beatin' Aroun De Bush

Beatin' Aroun De Bush

by Hugh MasekelaHugh Masekela


$17.77 $17.99 Save 1% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $17.99. You Save 1%.


With a mix of smooth contemporary jazz, Afro-beat, and world music, Beatin' Aroun de Bush is a highly accessible presentation of Hugh Masekela's flügelhorn expertise, as well as a visit to his South African homeland. This album was completed as his native country was voting to abolish apartheid, and the music contained herein is at times mellow and melancholy, but mostly celebratory. Masekela sings and chants, blows sweet phrases on his horn, and the whole band contributes to the rhythmic pulse with surprising instrumental accents and unexpected musical flourishes. The pop covers, Joe Jackson's "Steppin' Out" and Michael Jackson's "Rock with You," are enjoyable, but it's the African pieces "Batsumi," "Languta," "U-Mama," and the political title track that are the heart and soul of this recording. "Sekunjalo" is reminiscent of Masekela's 1968 pop hit "Grazing in the Grass." Sonically, Beatin' Aroun de Bush soars from start to finish thanks to Richard Druz's glistening production.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/28/2009
Label: Imports
UPC: 0693723067421
catalogNumber: 838921

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hugh Masekela   Primary Artist,Flugelhorn,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Thandi Bhengu   Background Vocals
Teco Cardoso   Tenor Saxophone
Tony Cedras   Guitar,Accordion,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Richard Cummings   Keyboards
George Doering   Guitar
Richard Druz   Percussion,Drums,Timbales
Damon Duewhite   Drums
Pauline Faraee   Background Vocals
Francis Fuster   Percussion,Conga
Morris Goldberg   Alto Saxophone,Whistle (Instrument)
Clydene Jackson   Background Vocals
Gene Jackson   Drums
Todd Jasmin   Keyboards
Remi Kabaka   Drums,talking drum
Ronald Kunene   Background Vocals
Cussie Lunene   Background Vocals
Lawrence Matshiza   Guitar
Lebohang Morake   Background Vocals
Yaw Opoku   Bass Guitar
Jynnifer Quick   Background Vocals
Ambition Sangnela   Background Vocals
Guy Spells   Background Vocals
Stanley Todd   Guitar
Fred White   Background Vocals
Sandy Simmons   Background Vocals
Bakithi Kumalo   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Ambition Sandqnela   Background Vocals
Gboyaga Adelaja   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Dudu Pukwana   Arranger
Hugh Masekela   Arranger
Steve Backer   Director
Tony Cedras   Arranger
Richard Druz   Arranger,Producer
Alex Kazanegras   Engineer
Jacqueline Murphy   Art Direction
Bakithi Kumalo   Composer

Customer Reviews