Behold the Bones

Behold the Bones

by Natalie C. Parker

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

A haunting, chilling, and atmospheric southern swamp tale—perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver.

In this companion to Beware the Wild, the book New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White called “American myth at its very best,” Natalie C. Parker takes readers on a journey back to an eerie Louisiana swamp town.

Candace “Candy” Pickens has been obsessed with the swamp lore of her tiny Louisiana town for . . . forever. Name any ghostly swamp figure and Candy will recite the entire tale in a way that will curl your toes and send chills up your spine.

That doesn’t mean Candy’s a believer, however. But with swamp haunts appearing in town every day, a suspicious new family in town, and her own mind starting to betray her, Candy must come to terms with the one piece of swamp lore she’s never heard before. It’s a tale that’s more truth than myth, and may hold all the answers . . . and its roots are in Candy’s own family tree.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062241573
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/23/2016
Series: Beware the Wild , #2
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 895,365
File size: 944 KB
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Natalie C. Parker is the author of Beware the Wild and Behold the Bones and the editor of Three Sides of a Heart: Stories About Love Triangles. She is also the founder of Madcap Retreats and works at her local university coordinating programs on climate science and indigenous communities. She lives on the Kansas prairie with her partner and a requisite number of beasts. Learn more about her at www.nataliecparker.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Behold the Bones 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Chancie More than 1 year ago
Rich in setting and character, interesting and entertaining plot, and VERY well written. It is slow moving, but it isn't a deal breaker. Really enjoyed it!
Riptorn41 More than 1 year ago
Behold the Bones is a fantastic return to Sticks, Louisiana. Told primarily from the point of view of Candace Pickens, this book is a lesson is how to paint relationships in a story. Couple that with some excellent world-building and Sticks' unique flavor of magic, and you have one hell of a good read. I particularly enjoy Natalie's ability to illustrate a characters thoughts in a way we can't help but know exactly how they feel: "I sweep my light at the level of the water, ready to pee if I spot the flash of eyeshine." A fun, fast romp that I recommend to anyone who likes fantasy.
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I really liked the spooky aspect of the first book and Candy, so I was quite eager to get into this story. Being in Candy's head is different. She's quite abrasive and her inner monologue is too. I did love how tough she was and how she constantly stood up for herself. At the same time, her doing everything on her own and not letting anyone help got pretty repetitive. The King family was interesting, but they definitely didn't add the sort of conflict I was expecting. Same with the swamp: the creepy, atmospheric setting seemed to be missing. Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy it, yet the spark that I saw and loved from book 1 didn't carry over. **Huge thanks to Harper Teen and Edelweiss for providing the arc in exchange for an honest review**