Ben and the Boys

Ben and the Boys

by Ben WebsterBen Webster


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This is the second of two Jazz Archives LPs that are comprised of rare Ben Webster performances. The first side has the eight selections recorded in 1944 by a hot quintet that stars the great tenor, trumpeter Hot Lips Page and pianist Clyde Hart; these strong swing sides were also reissued on the Circle label. The flip side has four oddities. Two other numbers are taken from a loose 1945 jam session and are of interest mainly because of the personnel which includes pianist Duke Ellington, violinist Stuff Smith and both Don Byas and Dexter Gordon on tenors (along with Webster). Ben is also heard with an all-star group backing Woody Herman's vocal on "Somebody Loves Me" and jamming "Flying Home" in 1958 with trumpeter Buck Clayton; the latter is taken from a television show. There is a lot of exciting music on this unusual and diverse set.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/24/1999
Label: President Records
UPC: 5017447615495
catalogNumber: 549
Rank: 143268


  1. Teezol
  2. The Horn
  3. Victory Stride
  4. Body and Soul
  5. Joshua
  6. Talk to Me
  7. Concerto for Cozy
  8. Nice and Cozy
  9. Sleep
  10. Memories of You
  11. Linger Awhile
  12. Just a Riff
  13. Blues on the Delta
  14. Honeysuckle Rose
  15. I Surrender Dear
  16. Blue Skies
  17. Kat's Fur
  18. Pick-Up Boys
  19. My Old Flame
  20. The Sheik of Araby
  21. Conversing in Blue
  22. Limehouse Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews