Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year: 1982 Edition

Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year: 1982 Edition

Paperback(1982nd 1982 ed.)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


First published in 1972, the annual series has been widely acclaimed as a concise yet far-ranging pictorial history of each year's events.

In addition, many volumes have featured a foreword by a distinguished history maker, reporter, or interpreter of historic events. Providing special insight into the cartoonist's art have been the following notables:

James J. Kirkpatrick, syndicated columnist
Daniel Patrick Moynihan, United States senator
Jerry Robinson, syndicated editorial cartoonist
Barry Goldwater, United States senator
Hubert Humphrey, United States senator

The 1982 edition contains more than 360 editorial cartoons reflecting the best efforts of 141 cartoonists, along with an illuminating foreword by Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonist Mike Peters. He discusses how a cartoonist conceives the ideas for his daily work.

Charles Brooks is past president of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists and was a cartoonist for the Birmingham (Ala.) News for thirty-eight years. He has been the recipient of thirteen Freedom Foundation awards, a national VFW award, two Vigilante Patriot awards, and a Sigma Delta Chi award for editorial cartooning.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780882893198
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing SC
Publication date: 05/30/1982
Series: Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year
Edition description: 1982nd 1982 ed.
Pages: 160
Product dimensions: 8.25(w) x 11.00(h) x (d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

CHARLES BROOKS, a former president of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists, has edited this series since its inception in 1972. Brooks served for 38 years as editorial cartoonist for the Birmingham News, where his work won numerous national awards.

Customer Reviews