Best [LP]

Best [LP]

by Roger TaylorRoger Taylor

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Colored Vinyl)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The first-ever single-disc anthology of Queen drummer Roger Taylor's solo material, 2014's Best brings together tracks off all five of his studio albums. Featured here are cuts from 1981's Fun in Space, 1984's Strange Frontier, 1994's Happiness?, 1998's Electric Fire, and 2013's Fun on Earth. While primarily known for his commanding drum presence with Queen, Taylor is also a strong rock singer and talented songwriter, responsible for penning such Queen hits as "Radio Ga Ga," "Breakthru," "These Are the Days of Our Lives," and others. Vocally, Taylor has a throatier, more gravelly presence on the microphone than Queen's highly resonant, operatic frontman Freddie Mercury. In that sense, he often brings to mind the sound of such similarly inclined contemporaries as the Who's Roger Daltrey, Mott the Hoople's Ian Hunter, and Deep Purple's Ian Gillan. Perhaps not surprisingly, many of the cuts here sound like they could easily have ended up on a Queen album, and tracks like "Let's Get Crazy," "Man on Fire," and "Strange Frontier" showcase the same synth-driven, pop
ock approach Queen was championing in the '80s. Elsewhere, Taylor's wry, socio-political commentary and epic, prog-inflected grandeur on cuts like "Nazis 1994" and "Nation of Haircuts" recalls the work of fellow Brits Pink Floyd. Ultimately, while Taylor's rock legacy will forever be tied to Queen, Best demonstrates how much further his legacy has gone given his solo work, and it's far beyond his talents as a drummer. [Best was also released on LP.]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/27/2014
Label: Omnivore Recordings
UPC: 0816651016594
catalogNumber: 101659
Rank: 60259


Disc 1

  1. Future Management (You Don't Need Nobody Else)
  2. I Wanna Testify
  3. Let's Get Crazy
  4. Magic is Loose
  5. Strange Frontier
  6. Man on Fire
  7. Beautiful Dreams
  8. Nazis 1994
  9. Foreign Sand

Disc 2

  1. Everybody Hurts Sometime
  2. Happiness
  3. Surrender
  4. Where Are You Now?
  5. A Nation of Haircuts
  6. Tonight
  7. No More Fun
  8. The Unblinking Eye (Everything is Broken)
  9. Sunny Day

Album Credits

Customer Reviews