Big Bad John [Bear Family/Sony]

Big Bad John [Bear Family/Sony]

by Jimmy DeanJimmy Dean


$18.94 $18.99 Save 0% Current price is $18.94, Original price is $18.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This 26-song single disc collection covers the highlights of Jimmy Dean's 1961-1962 recordings for Columbia Records; not everything, but most everything that counts. The sheer diversity of material demonstrates some of the problems that Dean had finding and following up on hits; he was a passable singer and likable personality, but he would follow up a pop
ock piece like "Little Black Book" with a blues piece such as "Gonna Raise a Ruckus Tonight." But apart from the hokiest of these tracks ("A Day That Changed the World"), it all holds up, including the title track; the freewheeling "Smoke, Smoke, Smoke That Cigarette"; the weirdly topical "Dear Ivan"; his cover of Merle Travis' "Sixteen Tons"; the sentimental father-to-daughter soliloquy "To a Sleeping Beauty"; the rough-hewn "Big Bad John" follow-up "The Cajun Queen"; the delightful sequel to both songs, "Little Bitty Big John"; "P.T. 109," a tribute to John Kennedy's World War II exploits written in the same vein as Johnny Horton's "Sink the Bismarck"; the wryly cynical "Walk on Boy"; the workers' anthem "Steel Men"; the pop
ock ballad "Little Black Book"; the old Texas blues "Gonna Raise a Ruckus Tonight"; the strange D-day remembrance "A Day That Changed the World"; the breezily folky "Gotta Travel On"; the sad dog (and war) song "Oklahoma Bill"; the effective sub-Elvis "Night Train to Memphis"; and two previously unissued numbers, the slow blues "Lonesome Road" and the swamp ballad "Cajun Joe."

Product Details

Release Date: 06/28/1994
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127157232
catalogNumber: 15723
Rank: 60253

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jimmy Dean   Primary Artist,Vocals
Floyd Cramer   Piano
Hank Garland   Guitar
Grady Martin   Guitar,Leader
Harold Bradley   Guitar
Billy Byrd   Guitar
Ray Edenton   Guitar
Buddy Harman   Drums
Walter Haynes   Steel Guitar
Douglas Kirkham   Drums
Rufus Long   Piccolo
Bill McElhiney   Trumpet
Jimmy Riddle   Harmonica
Joe Zinkan   Bass
Charlie McCoy   Harmonica
William Whitney Pursell   Organ,Piano
Bob Moore   Bass
Karl Garvin   Trumpet
Jack Dean   Track Performer
Samuel Hollingsworth   Bass

Technical Credits

Roy Acuff   Composer
Hank Garland   Contributor
Mel Tillis   Composer
Stuart Hamblen   Composer
Owen Bradley   Composer
Jimmy Dean   Composer
Colin Escott   Liner Notes,Biographical Information
Don Law   Producer
Harry Beasley Smith   Composer
Wayne Walker   Composer
Mark Wilder   Tape Research
Marijohn Wilkin   Composer
Bert Williams   Composer
Marvin Hughes   Composer
Alex Rogers   Composer
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Tape Research
Gerd Weiler   Artwork
Sylke Lohmeyer   Artwork

Customer Reviews