Blank Face LP

Blank Face LP

by ScHoolboy QScHoolboy Q


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, March 4
8 New & Used Starting at $1.99


By 2016, anything associated with the Top Dawg Entertainment/Black Hippy crew was considered "highly anticipated" by the hip-hop faithful, but no one in the posse had come close to the crossover success of superstar MC Kendrick Lamar. Team member Schoolboy Q was the crown prince, although his mix of gangsta rap and left-field production had failed to make him a household name, something The Blank Face LP holds dear. This sprawling, cumbersome, and often psychedelic effort feels like a glorious clearing house for the diverse and deep rapper, offering giant, cinematic, and challenging efforts like the Anderson Paak-featuring title track and the opening epic, "Torch," then shifting gear and getting flippant with oddball throwaways like the ultra-nasty "Studio" sequel called "Overtime." "Overtime" at least goes off-the-charts, sounding as if R&B porno artist Blowfly was mimicking R. Kelly's or guest vocalist Miguel's sexy styles, and while the beat Tyler, the Creator crafts for "Big Body" could be his silliest to date, Tha Dogg Pound still act if it's prime strip club stuff, and it's as fascinating to hear as it is odd. If "By Any Means" sounds like an important anthem for a year when race relations are at a new low, it begins "You can f**k my b*tch/You can have my ho" and goes more gutter from there, and while that makes it arguably disposable compared to the proud anthem "Ride Out" or the wonderful rumination called "Kno You Wrong," this 17-track, almost-mixtape is no slog on first listen. Fully-formed stunners like the Jadakiss feature "Groovy Tony/Eddie Kane" and "Tookie Knows II" are cold-blooded classics, and even if return visits require some dropped cuts, there's an awesome, tight album hiding inside this set of tracks, a set where the B-sides sneak in. As a release born firmly in the age of streaming, playlists, and The Life of Pablo, it's a sprawling album to argue about and examine. In Schoolboy Q's discography, it's the experimental LP with an attitude, and a giant Magical Mystery Tour that will dazzle his fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/08/2016
Label: Top Dawg Ent.
UPC: 0602557010923
catalogNumber: 002531002
Rank: 25166

Album Credits

Performance Credits

ScHoolboy Q   Primary Artist
Marlon Williams   Guitar
Swizz Beatz   Background Vocals
Dem Jointz   Background Vocals
James Hunt   Egg Shaker
Terrace Martin   Bass,Horn,Keyboards,Saxophone,Vocals,Vocoder
Jesse Rankins   Background Vocals
Kendrick Lamar   Vocals,Background Vocals
Sounwave   Piano,Drums,Keyboards
Candice Pillay   Vocals
Sam Dew   Vocals
Anderson .Paak   Background Vocals
Jaris Moses   Bass,Guitar
Trayvon Ray Cail   Vocals
Rob Gueringer   Guitar

Technical Credits

Jeff Barry   Composer
Robert "Kool" Bell   Composer
George "Funky" Brown   Composer
George Clinton   Composer
Dave Henderson   Composer
Robert "Spike" Mickens   Composer
Otha Nash   Composer
Mike Ratledge   Composer
Dennis "D.T." Thomas   Composer
Richard Westfield   Composer
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Johnny Jackson   Composer
Earl Stevens   Composer
Alchemist   Producer
Paul Beauregard   Composer
Ricardo Brown   Composer
Kanye West   Composer
Jordan Houston   Composer
Swizz Beatz   Producer
Delmar "Daz" Arnaud   Composer
Tyruss Himes   Composer
Jason Phillips   Composer
Ja'net Dubois   Composer
Kasseem Dean   Composer
Tupac Shakur   Composer
Larrance Dopson   Composer,Producer
Anthony "TOPDAWG" Tiffith   Executive Producer
Willie B   Composer,Producer
Dem Jointz   Producer
Tom Simon   Composer
Vince Edwards   Composer
Noah Goldstein   Composer,Engineer
Adrian Younge   Composer
Robert Townsend   Composer
James Hunt   Engineer
Frank Dukes   Composer,Producer
Patrick Houston   Composer
Cydel Young   Composer
Migui Maloles   Engineer
Justine Skyers   Composer
Claydes Smith   Composer
Daniel Pearson   Composer
Joshua "Southside" Luellen   Composer
Creator Tyler   Producer
Vince Staples   Composer
DJ Dahi   Producer
William Hart   Composer
Charles Hinshaw   Composer
Dwayne "Dem Jointz" Abernathy   Composer
Southside   Producer
Cardo   Producer
Sounwave   Producer,Additional Production
Kendrick Duckworth   Composer
Tyler Okonma   Composer
Jason Pounds   Composer,Producer
Candice Pillay   Composer
Sam Hook   Vocal Producer
Tim Gomringer   Composer
Kevin Gomringer   Composer
Cubeatz   Producer
Miguel Pimentel   Composer
Quincy Hanley   Composer
Dacoury Natche   Composer
Mark Spears   Composer
Metro Boomin   Producer
Tae Beast   Producer
Nez & Rio   Producer
Mario Loving   Composer
Nesbitt Wesonga   Composer
Donte Perkins   Composer
Leland Wayne   Composer
Solana Rowe   Composer
Tony Russell   Composer,Producer
Daveon Jackson   Composer
Alan Maman   Composer
Yung Exclusive   Producer
Ronald LaTour   Composer
Derraile Cail   Composer
Tom Khare   Engineer
Mychal Hatch   Composer
Lance Howard   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews