Blood [Remastered]

Blood [Remastered]

by This Mortal CoilThis Mortal Coil


$20.34 $22.99 Save 12% Current price is $20.34, Original price is $22.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The third and final album by This Mortal Coil, 1991's Blood is neither as unfocused as Filigree & Shadow or as conceptually pure as It'll End in Tears, but it's a solidly enjoyable set. Once again, nearly half the tracks are instrumentals (or tracks with minimal and often wordless female vocals) written by Ivo Watts-Russell and John Fryer, but this batch of tunes holds together much better than the much more amorphous originals on Filigree & Shadow; lengthy atmospheric explorations like "Dreams Are Like Water" sound composed and thoughtful rather than merely pretty. And as always, the covers are brilliantly chosen. The twin highlights are two songs written by Big Star's Chris Bell; "I Am the Cosmos" is reinterpreted as a ragged, brink-of-chaos rocker that sounds like it could have been on Big Star's post-Bell magnum opus, Third, while a delicate acoustic version of "You and Your Sister" with wispy, unsure vocals by Kim Deal and Tanya Donelly ranks with the first album's reinterpretation of Tim Buckley's "Song to the Siren" as one of the group's masterpieces. Other gems include a near-symphonic reading of Spirit's "Nature's Way" and a version of Syd Barrett's "Late Night" that strips the song down to not much more than Caroline Crawley's voice and a low-frequency hum.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/07/2012
Label: 4Ad
UPC: 0652637300628
catalogNumber: 73006
Rank: 12208

Album Credits

Performance Credits

This Mortal Coil   Primary Artist
Gini Ball   Violin
Heidi Berry   Vocals
Caroline Crawley   Vocals
Kim Deal   Vocals
John Fryer   Loops
Sally Herbert   Strings
Ikuko Kozu   Vocals
Alison Limerick   Vocals
Martin McCarrick   Strings,Cello
Rain Parade   Drums
Jocelyn Pook   Strings
Deirdre Rutkowski   Vocals
Louise Rutkowski   Vocals
Ivo Watts-Russell   Loops,Musician
Tanya Donelly   Vocals
Jon Turner   Piano,Musician
Jim Williams   Guitar
Dominic Appleton   Vocals
Sonia Slaney   Strings
Tim Freeman   Vocals
Pieter Nooten   Musician
Anne Garaigues   Vocals

Technical Credits

Rodney Crowell   Composer
Randy California   Composer
G. Clark   Composer
J. Davis   Composer
John Fryer   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Martin McCarrick   Composer,String Arrangements
Ivo Watts-Russell   Composer,Producer,Art Direction,Concept
Jon Turner   Programming,Engineer
Nigel Grierson   Art Direction
Pieter Nooten   Composer
N. Hikmet   Composer
S. Barrett   Composer

Customer Reviews