by This Mortal CoilThis Mortal Coil

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Remastered)

$34.94 $35.99 Save 3% Current price is $34.94, Original price is $35.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The third and final album by This Mortal Coil, 1991's Blood is neither as unfocused as Filigree & Shadow or as conceptually pure as It'll End in Tears, but it's a solidly enjoyable set. Once again, nearly half the tracks are instrumentals (or tracks with minimal and often wordless female vocals) written by Ivo Watts-Russell and John Fryer, but this batch of tunes holds together much better than the much more amorphous originals on Filigree & Shadow; lengthy atmospheric explorations like "Dreams Are Like Water" sound composed and thoughtful rather than merely pretty. And as always, the covers are brilliantly chosen. The twin highlights are two songs written by Big Star's Chris Bell; "I Am the Cosmos" is reinterpreted as a ragged, brink-of-chaos rocker that sounds like it could have been on Big Star's post-Bell magnum opus, Third, while a delicate acoustic version of "You and Your Sister" with wispy, unsure vocals by Kim Deal and Tanya Donelly ranks with the first album's reinterpretation of Tim Buckley's "Song to the Siren" as one of the group's masterpieces. Other gems include a near-symphonic reading of Spirit's "Nature's Way" and a version of Syd Barrett's "Late Night" that strips the song down to not much more than Caroline Crawley's voice and a low-frequency hum.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/07/2018
Label: 4Ad
UPC: 0652637300611
catalogNumber: 73006
Rank: 35901


Disc 1

  1. The Lacemaker
  2. Mr. Somewhere
  3. Andialu
  4. With Tomorrow
  5. Loose Joints
  6. You and Your Sister
  7. Nature's Way
  8. I Come and Stand at Every Door
  9. Bitter
  10. Baby Ray Baby

Disc 2

  1. Several Times
  2. The Lacemaker II
  3. Late Night
  4. Ruddy and Wretched
  5. Help Me Lift You Up
  6. Carolyn's Song
  7. D. D. and E.
  8. 'Til I Gain Control Again
  9. Dreams Are Like Water
  10. I Am the Cosmos
  11. (Nothing But) Blood

Album Credits

Customer Reviews