Blue Blvd/Museum of Heart

Blue Blvd/Museum of Heart

by Dave AlvinDave Alvin


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


At his best, Dave Alvin delivers clear-eyed and finely realized blue-collar roots rock narratives that work in the same territory as Bruce Springsteen and Steve Earle, although purposely less anthemic, with a dose of Tom Waits' love of lost souls desperate for redemption mixed in, and all supported by Alvin's sharp guitar style and everyman vocals. There are times, particularly when he co-writes with Tom Russell, that his songs fill with too much lyrical detail to truly take off, but when Alvin hones his songs to just what the story requires, then leans in and gives it that California rockabilly soul sound he's so good at, he's a front-line songwriter. This two-disc set combines his second and third solo albums, 1991's Blue Blvd and 1993's Museum of Heart, both of which were originally released on Hightone Records after Alvin was cut by Columbia Records after his first solo record, 1987's Romeo's Escape (it was entitled Every Night About This Time in the U.K.), a critical success, failed to make much commercial headway. Luckily, Dwight Yoakam had taken Alvin's "Long White Cadillac" onto the country charts in 1987, and Alvin used the royalty money to begin recording Blue Blvd, an album that has several outstanding songs, including the title track, "Blue Blvd," the stark and direct "Guilty Man," a song that became Alvin's signature tune in concert, and the beautiful "Dry River." Museum of Heart has fewer high points, but "Thirty Dollar Room" is powerful and the short guitar instrumental that closes the album, "Florence Avenue Lullaby," is lovely by anyone's standards (a coda of sorts, the lullaby doesn't appear in the printed track list, but is lovely all the same). These were (and are) both interesting albums, but for the casual listener at least, a single-disc best-of collection from the Hightone years might be a better starting point.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/10/2012
Label: Floating World
UPC: 0805772613423
catalogNumber: 7261342
Rank: 37851

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Alvin   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Soloist
Dwight Yoakam   Background Vocals
Steve Young   Background Vocals
Katy Moffatt   Background Vocals
Lee Allen   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
John Doe   Background Vocals
Bobby King   Background Vocals
Syd Straw   Background Vocals
Leon Haywood   Hammond B3
Fontaine Brown   Background Vocals
Terry Evans   Background Vocals
Don Falzone   Electric Bass,Bass Guitar,Standup Bass
David Hidalgo   Background Vocals
Greg Leisz   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar,national steel guitar,Lap Steel Guitar,Soloist
Donald Lindley   Drums
Rick Solem   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Soloist
John "Juke" Logan   Harmonica
Bobby Lloyd Hicks   Drums,Background Vocals
Michael Rosen   Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Stephen Arvizu Taylor Hodges   Percussion,Conga,Vibes

Technical Credits

Chris Gaffney   Composer
Tom Russell   Composer
Dave Alvin   Composer,Producer
Doug MacLeod   Composer
Michael Becker   Engineer
Charlie Brocco   Engineer
Bruce Bromberg   Producer
Fontaine Brown   Composer
Bill Dashiell   Engineer
Paul DuGre   Engineer
Greg Leisz   Feedback
Duke McVinnie   Composer
Steve Shepherd   Engineer
Chris Silagyi   Producer
Stephen Walker   Artwork
Michael Woody   Composer
Geza   Engineer
Shelly Heber   Direction
Terri Bromberg   Art Direction
Rob Keirstead   Drum Technician
Rick Ornstein   Engineer
Leanne Meyers   Direction
Elizabeth Rush   Booking
Barry Goldberg   Engineer

Customer Reviews