Blue Clouds

Blue Clouds

by Elizabeth MitchellElizabeth Mitchell


$17.30 $17.99 Save 4% Current price is $17.3, Original price is $17.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Arriving just three months after the compilation Little Seed: Songs for Children by Woody Guthrie, Blue Clouds, the sixth outing from singer/songwriter Elizabeth Mitchell, gleefully continues the founding member of New York-based indie rockers Ida's chalk-lined, hopscotch path to children's folk royalty. On Blue Clouds, Mitchell once again proves that family music needn't be earworm-heavy and cloying by breathing new life into traditional folk songs like "Froggie Went A-Courtin" and "Summer Is Icumen In," offering up smart, sweet originals like "Arm in Arm" and "Rollin' Baby," and incorporating familial '70s pop songs like David Bowie's "Kooks," Van Morrison's "Everyone," Jimi Hendrix's "May This Be Love," and Bill Withers' "I Wish You Well" (she even tapped into the Allman Brothers Band's back catalog for the amiable title cut) into the mix, resulting in what is easily one of the more likeable and listenable collections of tunes for tots to be released in some time. Backed by her extended musical family (You Are My Flower), which includes her husband Daniel Littleton, daughter Storey, and a small army of musical friends armed with everything from harmoniums and fiddles to banjos and glockenspiels, Mitchell and her band of urban merrymakers have once again taken the cookie cutters out of corporate kid pop's grubby little hands and created something that celebrates the boundless warmth and creativity of youth instead of attempting to capitalize on its cartoon product tie-in-induced and short attention span, which should please parents to no end.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/22/2012
Label: Smithsonian Folkways
UPC: 0093074506523
catalogNumber: 45065
Rank: 45613

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Elizabeth Mitchell   Primary Artist,Percussion,Piano,Glockenspiel,Vocals,Hand Clapping,Knee Slaps
Justin Guip   Drums
Molly Mason   Vocals,Upright Bass
Jay Ungar   Fiddle
Jane Scarpantoni   Cello
Clem Waldmann   Drums,Knee Slaps
Michael Littleton   Vocals
Amy Helm   Vocals
Anna Padgett   Vocals
Michael Merenda   Banjo
Jean Cook   Violin,Viola,Vocals
Kirsten Jacobson   Flute,Vocals
Daniel Littleton   Dulcimer,Banjo,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Cymbals,Harmonium,Harp,Vocals,Zither
Storey Littleton   Percussion,Vocals
Libby Constan   Vocals
Nancy Chusid   Oboe,Recorder,Soprano Recorder,Bass Recorder
Ken Ejinkone   Percussion,Vocals
Somoto Ejinkone   Percussion,Vocals
Penny Littleton   Vocals
Bonnie Mitchell   Hand Clapping,Knee Slaps
Rodman Stout   Vocals
Joey Driscoll   Vocals
Emma Loewen   Vocals
Ruth Ungar   Banjo,Fiddle,Vocals

Technical Credits

Dickey Betts   Composer
David Bowie   Composer
Bill Withers   Composer
Ella Jenkins   Composer
Sally Rogers   Composer
Duane Allman   Composer
Richard James Burgess   Marketing
Warren Defever   Producer,Engineer
Justin Guip   Engineer
Jimi Hendrix   Composer
Van Morrison   Composer
Charlie Pilzer   Engineer
Elizabeth Mitchell   Arranger,Producer,Liner Notes,Annotation
D.A. Sonneborn   Executive Producer
Chris Edwards   Engineer
Anna Padgett   Composer
Sonya Cohen Cramer   Art Direction,Layout
Margot Nassau   Licensing
Jean Cook   Adaptation
Susan Bergman   Composer
Daniel Littleton   Composer,Producer,Engineer
John Smith   Marketing
David Horgan   Marketing
Brian Selznick   Annotation,Essay
Daniel E. Sheehy   Executive Producer
Laura Dion   Marketing
Nancy Chusid   Arranger
Remy Charlip   Composer,Artwork
Gisel Florez   Back Cover Photo

Customer Reviews