Bom Tempo

Bom Tempo

by Sergio MendesSergio Mendes


$11.91 $11.99 Save 1% Current price is $11.91, Original price is $11.99. You Save 1%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Sergio Mendes takes (a few more) chances on Bon Tempo, his third release for Concord since 2006, all the while stepping concertedly toward the urban market in the same way that Brasil 66 shot at the heart of the pop market nearly half a century ago. Mendes produced the set himself and enlisted the talents of both Brazilian and American musicians. His element of risk comes in the form of using the songs of Brazilian composers almost exclusively -- both classic and modern -- and in some cases, radically re-interpreting them for a decidedly non-Brazilian market. One such example is in the opening re-creation of of Gilberto Gil's and João Donato's "Emorio," and making it a driving, synthetically funky dancefloor heater. Featuring lead vocals by Nayanna Holley and a rap from Carlinhos Brown (whose presence on the album is pronounced) it employs "elements" (samples) of Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Surfboard," and Mendes' own signature recording of "Mas Que Nada." The layers of synths by Mikael Mutti nearly offset the fine Brazilian rhythmic invention. Mendes takes a fine piano solo, but the effect is strange nonetheless. "Maracatu Atomico" with Seu Jorge on vocals is a little less so, even when the twisting, angular clavinet solo turns the piece toward funky hip-hop. Holley and Brown re-team on the latter's "You and I." This is simply an urban tune with a couple of carnival rhythms tossed into the dancefloor thump. The sheen on Jobim's "Só Tinha de Ser Com Você," with vocals by Gracinha Leporace, is disquieting but nonetheless recognizable, and it may resonate with contemporary jazz fans. Other tunes are (a little) more traditional, such as Moacir Santos' lovely "Maracatu (Nation of Love)" and Jobim's "Caminhos Cruzados," with a beautiful vocal by Leporace and sparse, elegant Rhodes work by Mendes. The lone cover on the set is of Stevie Wonder's "The Real Thing" with vocals by Katie Hampton. With its cut-time house rhythm, layers of keyboards, and bright horn section, it works, and it should at urban radio as well. As another experiment in Mendes' catalog, this set may indeed bring listeners initially attracted by contemporary production and hypnotic dance rhythms to the rich melodic and polyrhythmic world of Brazilian music through the back door.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/01/2010
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072315754
catalogNumber: 31575
Rank: 93845

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sergio Mendes   Primary Artist,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Milton Nascimento   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Justo Almario   Flute,Soloist
Carlinhos Brown   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Steel Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Rap
Vinnie Colaiuta   Drums
Scott Frankfurt   Synthesizer
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Alphonso Johnson   Bass
Gracinha Leporace   Vocals,Background Vocals
Scott Mayo   Clarinet,Flute,Saxophone,Soloist
Kleber Jorge   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Cavaquinho
Nathan Watts   Bass
Mike Shapiro   Percussion,Drums
Lincoln Cheib   Percussion
Bill Churchville   Trumpet
Andrew Lippman   Trombone
Jack Majdecki   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Wilson Lopes   Background Vocals
Mikael Mutti   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Clavinet
Seu Jorge   Vocals,Background Vocals
Darius Fong   Horn Engineer
Bimbo Jones   Synthesizer
Katie Hampton   Vocals,Background Vocals
Andro Carvalho   Rap
Nayanna Holley   Vocals
Jessica Taylor   Vocals,Background Vocals
Timothy Bisi   Rap
Kalaf Angelo   Rap
Joao Parahiba   Percussion
Gastao Villerroy   Background Vocals
Fred Ferreira   Rap

Technical Credits

Sergio Mendes   Arranger,Producer,Rhythm Design
Milton Nascimento   Arranger,Composer
Gilberto Gil   Composer
Moacir Santos   Composer
Carlinhos Brown   Arranger,Composer
John Burk   Executive Producer
Mario Caldato   Arranger,Producer
Aloysio de Oliveira   Composer
João Donato   Composer
Scott Frankfurt   Rhythm Design
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Scott Mayo   Horn Arrangements
Miguel Pessoa   Guitar Engineer,Vocal Recording
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Todd Gallopo   Art Direction
Newton Mendonça   Composer
Nei Lopes   Composer
Jorge Mautner   Composer
Fernando Brant   Composer
Luís Carlos Vinhas   Composer
Mikael Mutti   Arranger,rhythm track,Rhythm Programming,Rhythm Design
Doug Tyo   Engineer,Bass Engineer,Drum Recordings,Percussion Engineer,Vocal Recording
Darius Fong   Engineer
Chico Feitosa   Composer
Bimbo Jones   Arranger,Composer,Producer,rhythm track,Rhythm Design
Nelson Jacobina   Composer
Jorge Ben Jor   Composer

Customer Reviews