Brahms and the Scherzo: Studies in Musical Narrative

Brahms and the Scherzo: Studies in Musical Narrative

by Ryan McClelland

NOOK Book(eBook)

$131.49 $149.95 Save 12% Current price is $131.49, Original price is $149.95. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Despite the incredible diversity in Brahms's scherzo-type movements, there has been no comprehensive consideration of this aspect of his oeuvre. Professor Ryan McClelland provides an in-depth study of these movements that also contributes significantly to an understanding of Brahms's compositional language and his creative dialogue with musical traditions. This illuminating book will appeal to music theorists, musicologists working on nineteenth-century instrumental music and performers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781409494027
Publisher: Ashgate Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 01/28/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 25 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

Professor Ryan McClelland is Associate Professor of Music Theory at the Faculty of Music, University of Toronto, Canada.

Table of Contents

Contents: Introduction: theoretical and repertorial contexts; The early minor-mode scherzos: ghosts of Schumann and Beethoven; Minuets, scherzos, and neoclassicism; The pastoral scherzos; Some intermezzos; The late minor-mode scherzos; Waltzing away with the minuet; Three impostors; The case of the 4th symphony and some concluding thoughts; Appendix; Bibliography; Index.

Customer Reviews