Broken Promises

Broken Promises

by Rusty TruckRusty Truck


3 New & Used Starting at $1.99


When it came time to record his first album, former Rolling Stone chief photographer Mark Seliger was savvy with his connections. He obviously befriended the right people along the way and his band, Rusty Truck, reaped the benefits. Broken Promises is the fruit of five years' work, a countrified, blues-tinged, no-nonsense rock & roll blend that's real in heart and soul. Rusty Truck gives Seliger the chance to prove himself on another level and it's a pleasant surprise. Having guest spots from the likes of Jakob Dylan, Lenny Kravitz, Sheryl Crow, and Willie Nelson doesn't hurt, but Seliger and co. make it known that this is more than an all-star bash. Broken Promises is a rare occasion, an emotive set of songs that explore genre-blending boundaries that gives back to the basics of rock & roll. From the easy-listening title track duet with Kravitz to the high lonesome gems with Gillian Welch and David Rawlings ("Cival Wars/Luck's Changing Lanes," "Tangled in the Fence"), the band's stripped compositions clue a listener in to Seliger's main intention of telling a story. Broken Promises doesn't do anything new as far as molding country and rock, but it's an honest effort and it's solid. Who knew Seliger was a real artist behind the lens?

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2003
Label: TERRA
UPC: 0880019100126
catalogNumber: 191001

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rusty Truck   Primary Artist
Willie Nelson   Guitar,Vocals
Lenny Kravitz   Bass,Guitar,Bongos,Drums,Marimbas,Background Vocals
Brian Lynch   Trumpet
Marc Ribot   Electric Guitar,12-string Guitar
Andy Gibson   Dobro
Kenny Wayne Shepherd   Guitar
Sheryl Crow   Acoustic Guitar,Accordion,Background Vocals
Mickey Raphael   Harmonica,Echo Harp,Bass Harmonica
Oren Bloedow   Guitar
Sterling Campbell   Drums
Jakob Dylan   Background Vocals,Dancer,Hand Clapping,Foot Stomping
Horacio "El Negro" Hernández   Percussion
Rami Jaffee   Organ,Dancer,Hand Clapping,Foot Stomping
Andres Levin   Acoustic Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar,farfisa organ,Guitar (Nylon String)
Gary Lunn   Bass
Meshell Ndegeocello   Bass,Background Vocals
Russ Pahl   Pedal Steel Guitar
Joey Peters   Percussion,Drums,Dancer,Snare Drums,Hand Clapping,Foot Stomping
Craig Ross   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Peter Stroud   Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar
Tim Walker   Background Vocals
John Willis   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo
Dave Zettner   Pedal Steel Guitar
Rob Thomas   Background Vocals
Harold Todd   Saxophone
Bobbie Nelson   Piano
Gillian Welch   Bass,Background Vocals
Matt Smith   Guitar,Mandolin,Chumbus
Michael Duff   Acoustic Guitar
David Rawlings   Acoustic Guitar,Hammond Organ
Ben Peeler   Electric Guitar,Guitar (12 String Electric)
Mark Seliger   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Steve Barber   Wurlitzer
Greg Richling   Bass
Matt Andrews   Acoustic Guitar
Mario Calire   Drums
Tim Smith   Bass
Malcolm Cross   Background Vocals
Sid Jordan   Background Vocals
Rashawn Ross   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Willie Nelson   Producer
Lenny Kravitz   Producer,String Arrangements
Mickey Raphael   Producer
Nick Brophy   Original Mix
T Bone Burnett   Producer
Patrick Dillett   Engineer
Jakob Dylan   Producer
Larry Greenhill   Engineer
Henry Hirsch   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Rami Jaffee   Producer
Andres Levin   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Meshell Ndegeocello   Programming,Producer
Bob Salcedo   Engineer
Gillian Welch   Producer
David Rawlings   Producer
Mark Seliger   Composer
Matt Knobel   Programming,Engineer
Jimmy Sloan   Engineer
Matt Andrews   Engineer
Cyrille Taillandier   Pro-Tools
Alex Alvarez   Pro-Tools

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews