by Jeremy DenkJeremy Denk


$20.61 $21.99 Save 6% Current price is $20.61, Original price is $21.99. You Save 6%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


American pianist Jeremy Denk is known for unusual programs that juxtapose wildly different kinds of music, but nothing he has done before approaches the novelty of c.1300-c.2000, which is exactly what it sounds like: a survey of seven centuries of music, played on the piano. It's hard to say what Denk is up to here. The earlier pieces are not keyboard transcriptions but simple arrangements of pieces of medieval and Renaissance polyphony, carefully rendered versions of what a music history teacher might play during a class to illustrate the various styles. Then, at the beginning of the second disc in the physical release, Denk shifts gears into actual piano music. However, even here, his method is not really clear: Mozart is represented by the slow movement of the "easy" "Piano Sonata in C major, K. 545," but that's followed by the mighty opening movement of Beethoven's final sonata, the "Piano Sonata No. 32 in C minor, Op. 111." Denk says of the first part of the program that "I felt it was essential to deal with a more purely musical love: the art of counterpoint, a foundation of the long story to come." Yet the piano works on the album don't pick up this thread. All this said, Denk is often, as usual, quite compelling (sample the first disc's corker of a Bach "Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue in D minor, BWV 903"), and there's an X factor here that gives the pianist points for sheer adventurousness in trying something absolutely new. Denk fans are likely to be quite pleased with this latest chapter.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/08/2019
Label: Nonesuch
UPC: 0075597934717
catalogNumber: 563316
Rank: 43360


Disc 1

  1. Doulz amis, oy mon compleint, ballade for 2 voices  (02:21)
  2. Tristre plaisir et douleureuse joie, rondeau for 3 voices, R. 45  (01:57)
  3. Missa prolationum, for 4 voices: Kyrie - Christe eleison

    1. Kyrie - Christe eleison  (03:01)
  4. Franc cuer gentil, sur toutes gracieuse, rondeau for 3 voices  (02:03)
  5. Missa "Pange Lingua", for 4 parts: Kyrie

    1. Kyrie  (03:07)
  6. Au joly jeu du pousse avant, chanson for 4 voices, M. 1/12  (01:17)
  7. Fantasia (Voluntary for my Lady Neville), for keyboard in G major, MB 61  (03:38)
  8. O dolce mio tesoro, madrigal for 5 voices (Book 6), W. 6/37  (02:56)
  9. Zefiro Torna, madrigal for 2 tenors and continuo (from Book 9 & Scherzi musicali), SV 251  (04:38)
  10. Ground for harpsichord in C minor (from "Ye tuneful muses" Z344/11), ZT 681  (03:27)
  11. Sonata for keyboard in B flat major, K. 551 (L. 396)  (03:38)
  12. Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue, for keyboard in D minor, BWV 903 (BC L34)  (11:55)

Disc 2

  1. Piano Sonata No. 16 in C major ("Sonata semplice") K. 545: II. Andante

    1. II. Andante  (04:34)
  2. Piano Sonata No. 32 in C minor, Op. 111: I. Maestoso; Allegro con brio ed appassionato

    1. I. Maestoso; Allegro con brio ed appassionato  (08:28)
  3. Fantasiestück ("In der Nacht"), for piano, Op. 12/5  (04:13)
  4. Preludes (24) for piano, Op. 28, CT. 166-189: Preludes No. 1 in C major & No. 2 in A minor

    1. Preludes No. 1 in C major & No. 2 in A minor  (03:00)
  5. Isoldens Liebestod: Schlußszene aus Tristan und Isolde, transcription for piano, S. 447 (LW A239) (after Wagner)  (07:24)
  6. Intermezzo for piano in B minor, Op. 119/1  (03:55)
  7. Pieces (3) for piano, Op. 11: No. 1, Mässige Viertel

    1. No. 1, Mässige Viertel  (03:19)
  8. Reflets dans l'eau, for piano, L. 105/1 (110/1)  (05:09)
  9. Piano-Rag-Music, for piano  (03:06)
  10. Klavierstück I, for piano  (02:33)
  11. Etudes for piano, Vol. 1: Etude No. 2

    1. Etude No. 2  (04:23)
  12. Etudes, Book 1 No. 6 ("Automne à Varsovie"), for piano  (04:22)
  13. Tristre plaisir et douleureuse joie, rondeau for 3 voices, R. 45  (02:12)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews