Can I Have My Money Back? [Remastered & Expanded]

Can I Have My Money Back? [Remastered & Expanded]

by Gerry RaffertyGerry Rafferty

CD(Expanded / Remastered)

$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.


The gifted Gerry Rafferty sometimes soared the staggering singer/songwriter heights of that unattainable deity, Dylan. Unfortunately, this cynical Scot also encountered a variety of corporate roadblocks (hence the title track) that continually affected his productivity. Another blatant shot at the bigwigs looms in "Sign on the Dotted Line," written with future Stealers Wheel partner Joe Egan (the duo detailed industry fatigue further in the sinister "Stuck in the Middle with You"). The limited Rafferty works that actually made it to wax remain potent years later. Song by song, Rafferty delineates life ("New Street Blues"), love ("Didn't I"), and fitness ("Mr Universe") with a classy professionalism that still retains an emotional impact, a trait unique to the '70s, and Rafferty is a consummate '70s star. This record harnesses the cosmic production presence prevalent in the latter discs of the decade, when Rafferty's commercial Renaissance arrived with City to City, but returns to earth with intrinsically fluid melodies, facile poetry, and folksy playing. Simply superlative, Can I Have My Money Back? is the first of too few full-lengths from a sporadic but splendid talent. [A 2017 Expanded Edition added 12 remastered tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 02/24/2017
Label: Cherry Red
UPC: 5013929467446
catalogNumber: 5048728

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gerry Rafferty   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals
Gary Taylor   Bass
Joe Egan   Vocals,Background Vocals
Rab Noakes   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Roger Brown   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Zed Jenkins   Electric Guitar
Rod King   Steel Guitar
Hugh Murphy   Tambourine
Alan Parker   Electric Guitar
Tom Parker   Organ,Piano,Harmonium,Harpsichord,Keyboards
Henry Spinetti   Percussion,Drums
Andrew Steele   Drums
Joe Mystery   Background Vocals
John Van Derrick   Fiddle

Technical Credits

Gerry Rafferty   Arranger,Composer
Joe Egan   Composer
Robin Black   Engineer
Jerry Boys   Engineer
Gerald Chevin   Engineer
Hugh Murphy   Producer
Tom Parker   Arranger,Whistle
Roger Mayer   Engineer
Malcolm Dome   Liner Notes
John Byrne   Composer,Paintings,Sleeve Design

Customer Reviews