by LissieLissie




Lissie spent two albums dwelling in California, first cutting an attempted crossover with Jacknife Lee (2013's Back to Forever) and then creating a West Coast fantasia on 2016's My Wild West, before deciding to relocate to Iowa. Along with the move came a decision to strip away some of the surface sheen of her music. Castles doesn't find Lissie completely abandoning her fusion of shimmering synths and folk-rock, yet the 2018 album finds her shifting focus. Where its two immediate predecessors emphasized production -- a seductive quality, yet one that meant the songs could occasionally take some time to unfold -- Castles puts Lissie's songs at the forefront, using electronics and surging guitars as accents to her moody songs. Throughout the record, the singer/songwriter explores questions of love, loss, and rebirth, sidestepping confessional conventions by constructing songs that are carried as much by melody as by lyric. It also helps that Lissie embraces pop melodicism and atmospheric soul, a combination that lends her songs a sense of anthemic inspiration while avoiding the clichés of motivational AAA pop. As such, Castles exists in a bit of a netherworld -- it's commercial yet idiosyncratic, classic in its structure yet contemporary in its sound -- but it's also a quietly compelling record, revealing an artist who is starting to hit her stride.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/23/2018
Label: Lionboy Records
UPC: 0711297519525
catalogNumber: 4

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lissie   Primary Artist,Vocals
Knox Chandler   Guitar
Andrew Williams   Electric Guitar
Adam Zimmon   Guitar
Curt Schneider   Bass,Strings,Electric Guitar
Liam Howe   Keyboards,Phillycorda
Julian Emery   Bass,Guitar
Zac Rae   Keyboards
David Levita   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Martin Craft   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Bill Reynolds   Organ,Bass,Guitar,Harmonica,Drums
Aaron Sterling   Drums
Lance Conrad   Vocals
Jim Irvin   Percussion
Henry Rankin   Violin,Viola
AG   Piano,Vocals
Kurtz   Drums
Jack Tinker   Trumpet,French Horn
Harry Fausing Smith   Violin
Nick Lotto   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Background Vocals,Fx Vocals
Tom Goff   Cello

Technical Credits

Daniel Tashian   Composer
Curt Schneider   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Liam Howe   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,drum programming,Atmosphere,Additional Production
Julian Emery   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Ian Fitchuk   Composer
Martin Craft   Composer
Bill Reynolds   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Lissie   Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Lance Conrad   Vocal Engineer
Jim Irvin   Composer
Adrianne Gonzalez   Composer
AG   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation,Additional Production
Elisabeth Maurus   Composer
Jason Lee Denton   Direction
Pete Hutching   drum programming
Nicholas Tesoriero   Composer
Adam Gorman   Engineer
Nick Lotto   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Engineer,Atmosphere

Customer Reviews