Celtic Treasure

Celtic Treasure

by Hayley WestenraHayley Westenra


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


On the heels of her joint venture with Irish singing sensations Celtic Woman, which resulted in a CD and a concert DVD that was broadcast on PBS, young star Hayley Westenra digs deeper into the music of her heritage on her third solo disc, Celtic Treasure. Although a New Zealander by birth, Westenra traces her ancestors back to the Irish motherland (she even knows the name of the boat they set sail on in 1851). And with her pure, youthful voice, she launches into such classic folk material as "Danny Boy," "Scarborough Fair," and "The Last Rose of Summer" -- songs she learned on the knees of her grandparents as a child. But Westenra also embraces the wider world of song here, extending to the American standard "Shenandoah," a choir-backed "Whispering Hope," and even versions of Madame Butterfly's "Un bel di" (One Fine Day) and the John Dowland (and Sting?) inspired "Melancholy Interlude." Westenra originals like "Summer Rain" and "Let Me Die" show that the singer also has an eye on the future: "New music has to be written, new songs created, otherwise we are robbing the future of a past," she sagely writes. Still, it's with the timeless simplicity of the classic English hymn "Abide with Me" that Westenra signs off on this delightful musical journey.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/13/2007
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947585312
catalogNumber: 000856002
Rank: 69360

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hayley Westenra   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals
Miles Bould   Percussion
Tony Hinnigan   Flute,Pipe
Nick Ingman   Piano,Conductor
London Session Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Michel Pouliot   Drums
Natalie MacMaster   Fiddle
Peter Fitzpatrick   Piano
David Downes   Conductor
Moore   Gittern
Alan Smale   Leader
Andreja Malir   Harp
Metro Voices   Choir, Chorus
Irish Film Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Tony Hinnegan   Pipe
Mac Morin   Piano
Rupert Christie   Keyboards
Wix   Keyboards
Brad Davidge   Guitar
Shane Hendrickson   Bass
Katie Krykant   Background Vocals
Anthony Hinnigan   Flute
Miche Pouliot   Drums
Matt MacIsaac   Human Whistle
Méav   Track Performer
Pat Fitzpatrick   Piano
Wix   Keyboards
Jenny O'Grady   Choir Master

Technical Credits

John Dowland   Composer
Giacomo Puccini   Composer
Cheryl Wheeler   Composer
Alice Hawthorne   Composer
Nick Ingman   Arranger
Brian Masterson   Engineer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Nick Patrick   Arranger,Producer
Ron Hynes   Composer
Natalie MacMaster   Producer
David Downes   Arranger
Costa Pilavachi   Executive Producer
Steven Abbott   Management
Nick Wollage   Engineering
Henry Francis Lyte   Lyricist
Donnell Leahy   Producer
Traditional   Composer
Ian Tilley   Producer
Jacky Schroer   Executive Producer
Nathaniel Chan   Engineer
Rupert Christie   Programming
Hayley Westenra   Arranger,Composer,Lyricist,Liner Notes
Sarah Class   Composer
Michael Walters   Art Direction
Wix   Programming
Mark Cavell   Executive Producer
Doug McKendrick   Engineer
Kathryn Nash   Management
Gerald Westenra   Management
Jill Westenra   Management
Rosetta Helen Elkin   Lyricist
Giuseppe Giacosa   Lyricist
Luigi Illica   Lyricist
Nick Woollage   Engineering
Frederick Edward Weatherly   Lyricist
R.H. Elkin   Lyricist
Thomas Moore   Lyricist
Wix   Programming

Customer Reviews