Charles Gounod: Cinq-Mars [CD & Book]

Charles Gounod: Cinq-Mars [CD & Book]

by Véronique GensVéronique Gens


$46.50 $47.99 Save 3% Current price is $46.5, Original price is $47.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


"Cinq-Mars" is an 1877 opera by Charles Gounod, written a dozen years after his last big hit, "Roméo et Juliette." It's based on a historical novel by Alfred de Vigny about the Marquis of Cinq-Mars, a nobleman who attempted to rally resistance to Cardinal Richelieu and in 1642 was executed for his pains. The work harks back to the tradition of French grand opera and was never very successful. It fell into a series of numbers at a time when audiences were getting a taste of a different way of doing things, not just from Germany, but from Verdi also. But it does contain numbers that show Gounod's undiminished melodic gift: sample the "Cavatine" of the Princess Marie Gonzaga, the linchpin of the wholly fictitious romantic subplot added by Gounod and his librettists. Marie is sung by Véronique Gens, who leads a cast of uniformly strong singers, and this live performance, with the Munich Radio Orchestra and Bavarian Radio Choir under the direction of Ulf Schirmer, has plenty of energy. The recording is available in a sumptuous hardback package with beautiful classic design; the event may not live up to the presentation, but the idea, as a counterweight to the instant reproducibility of art in the Internet age, is a good one.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/27/2016
Label: Imports
UPC: 9788460866428
catalogNumber: 5070087
Rank: 135299


  1. Cinq Mars, opera

    1. Ouverture  (04:49)
    2. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Scène: Viendra-til?  (06:13)
    3. Acte premier: Scène: À la cour  (02:55)
    4. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Scène: Henri!  (05:05)
    5. Acte premier: Duo: Henri, vous nous parliez  (02:39)
    6. Acte troisième: Introduction  (01:02)
    7. Acte premier: Duo: On dit que le hasard  (03:39)
    8. Acte troisième: Chœur: La fanfare éveillée  (01:20)
    9. Acte premier: Scène: Messieurs, que le Seigneur vous entende!  (02:54)
    10. Acte troisième: Cavatine: Henri! Marie!  (03:30)
    11. Acte premier: Morceau d'ensemble: Reine!  (04:26)
    12. Acte troisième: Scène: Madame, c'est le lieu du rendez-vous  (01:51)
    13. Acte premier: Chœur: Allez, par la nuit claire  (01:29)
    14. Acte troisième: Trio: Ô Marie!  (03:06)
    15. Acte premier: Cavatine: Par quel trouble profond  (04:44)
    16. Acte troisième: Scène: Ainsi donc, ils sont là?  (03:11)
    17. Acte premier: Duo Ah! Vous m'avez pardonné  (01:43)
    18. Acte troisième: Air: Tu t'en vas  (03:23)
    19. Acte premier: Duo: Faut-il donc oublier  (03:27)
    20. Acte troisième: Duo: Ah! Demeurez ici, madame  (05:05)
    21. Acte deuxième: Premier tableau: Introduction  (01:08)
    22. Acte troisième: Scène: Hallali!  (00:42)
    23. Acte deuxième: Premier tableau: Scène: À Mario, reine des belles!  (01:45)
    24. Acte troisième: Scène: Hallali! Chasse superbe  (01:23)
    25. Acte deuxième: Premier tableau: Scène: Marion, dites-nous, ma reine  (01:08)
    26. Acte troisième: Scène: Princesse, nous avons déploré  (01:52)
    27. Acte deuxième: Premier tableau: Chanson: On ne verra plus dans Paris  (01:29)
    28. Acte troisième: Ensemble: Pour sauver une cause perdue  (04:49)
    29. Acte deuxième: Premier tableau: Récit et Mélodrame: Que ne renversez vous enfin le cardinal  (01:44)
    30. Acte quatrième: Prélude  (01:24)
    31. Acte deuxième: Premier tableau: Scène: Messieurs, avez-vous vu  (02:41)
    32. Acte quatrième: Scene: Ami, je faisais un beau réve  (02:10)
    33. Acte deuxième: Premier tableau: Chœur: Ah! Monsieur le grand écuyer  (02:11)
    34. Acte quatrième: Cavatine: À vous, ma nere  (04:31)
    35. Acte deuxième: Premier tableau: Cavatine: Marie!  (02:30)
    36. Acte quatrième: Scène: Ah qu'ai-je dit?  (01:18)
    37. Acte deuxième: Premier tableau: Scène: Cet homme encor!  (02:06)
    38. Acte quatrième: Duo: A ta voix le ciel s'est ouvert  (01:25)
    39. Acte deuxième: Premier tableau: Trio et Scène: Est-il vrai  (02:56)
    40. Acte quatrième: Scène: Ami, venez!  (02:00)
    41. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Introduction  (00:57)
    42. Acte quatrième: Scène: Entendez-vous, Henri?  (00:34)
    43. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Scène: Ninon dites-nous  (01:42)
    44. Acte quatrième: Scène: Messieurs  (02:32)
    45. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Divertissement: Belle, dont le sourire  (01:14)
    46. Acte quatrième: Hymne et Scène finale: Seigneur! soutiens notre ame  (02:50)
    47. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Air: Bergers qui le voulez connaitre  (03:15)
    48. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Divertissement  (00:49)
    49. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Danse des Bergères  (01:23)
    50. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Entrée du Jeune Berger  (00:36)
    51. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Chœur: Aminthe est sauvage  (00:50)
    52. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Entrée des Petits Soins  (01:07)
    53. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Entrée des Billets Doux et des Jolis Vers  (02:31)
    54. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Sonnet: De vos traits mon âme est navrée  (03:26)
    55. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Finale  (02:06)
    56. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Chœur: À Marion  (00:40)
    57. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Sarabande  (00:29)
    58. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Scène: Nous sommes seuls  (00:58)
    59. Acte deuxième: Deuxième tableau: Scène et Arioso: J'ai cherché vainement Cinq-Mars  (02:03)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews