Chiang Yee: The Silent Traveller from the East--A Cultural Biography

Chiang Yee: The Silent Traveller from the East--A Cultural Biography

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


A young man arrives in England in the 1930s, knowing few words of the English language. Yet, two years later he writes a successful English book on Chinese art, and within the following decade publishes more than a dozen others. This is the true story of Chiang Yee, a renowned writer, artist, and worldwide traveler, best known for the Silent Traveller series--stories of England, the United States, Ireland, France, Japan, and Australia--all written in his humorous, delightfully refreshing, and enlightening literary style.

This biography is more than a recounting of extraordinary accomplishments. It also embraces the transatlantic life experience of Yee who traveled from China to England and then on to the United States, where he taught at Columbia University, to his return to China in 1975, after a forty-two year absence. Interwoven is the history of the communist revolution in China; the battle to save England during World War II; the United States during the McCarthy red scare era; and, eventually, thawing Sino-American relations in the 1970s. Da Zheng uncovers Yee's encounters with racial exclusion and immigration laws, displacement, exile, and the pain and losses he endured hidden behind a popular public image.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780813549279
Publisher: Rutgers University Press
Publication date: 02/26/2010
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 358
File size: 13 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

DA ZHENG, a native of Shanghai who came to the United States in 1986, is an associate professor of English at Suffolk University.

Table of Contents

Contents Foreword: Chiang Yee As I Knew Him Acknowledgments A Note on Romanization 1. Chinese Childhood 2. Revolutionary Era 3. Civil Servant 4. No Longer in Need of a Bench 5. Another C.Y. 6. "The Thing Has Come At Last" 7. My Own World 8. Oxford Years 9. "My English Christmas" 10. To America 11. Americanized 12. "Invisible Pains" 13. Home 14. Family and Love 15. China Revisited 16. Homeward Bound Notes Primary Sources Writings by Chiang Yee Index

Customer Reviews