by Jaci VelasquezJaci Velasquez


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


From Christian teen-pop diva to Latin star, we've seen many faces of the award-winning Jaci Velasquez. Her first holiday release, Christmas, is something of a revelation -- it marks the arrival of a mature vocalist, one who sings with authority and depth -- and is not drowned out by production bells-and-whistles or Mariah Carey-style histrionics. Holiday projects tend to be tricky affairs, filled as they are with so much familiar (and often cherished) fare. Christian holiday releases are even more suspect, as they must toe that fine line between holiday cheer and spiritual reflection. Velasquez does a nice job of that here, opening with a pensive arrangement of the familiar carol "O Come, O Come Emmanuel." That's a nice introduction to the beautiful and stirring "The Angel Song," a new song penned by über-writer Chris Eaton (who penned Amy Grant's now-standard "Breath of Heaven"). Much of the meat of Christmas, however, goes in a more general-market direction, focusing on holiday tunes like "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas," "White Christmas," and "The Christmas Song (Chestnuts)." That's okay -- Velasquez's rich vocal delivery on all the material here makes this a treat in any form, and this singer certainly has a right to court a broad audience. A special treat is the new song "It Wouldn't Be Christmas Without You," a classic in the making written by Scott Krippayne and sung with all the tenderness its gentle lyric deserves. Christmas is largely an easygoing affair, making it an excellent antidote to holiday angst and the perfect addition to one's treasured holiday music.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/2001
Label: Word Entertainment
UPC: 0080688612825
catalogNumber: 886128
Rank: 192058

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jaci Velasquez   Primary Artist
Javier Solís   Drums
Leanne Albrecht   Background Vocals
Jeff Bailey   Horn
Lisa Bevill   Background Vocals
Dave Cleveland   Guitar
George Cocchini   Guitar
Ernie Collins   Horn
David Davidson   Strings
Mark Douthit   Saxophone
Chris Dunn   Horn
Barry Green   Horn
John Hammond   Drums
Brandon Harris   Children's Chorus
Chris Harris   Background Vocals
Mike Haynes   Trumpet
Tom Howard   Conductor
Mark Ivey   Background Vocals
Sam Levine   Horn
Chris McDonald   Horn
Jerry McPherson   Guitar
Michael Mellett   Background Vocals
Doug Moffett   Horn
Steve Patrick   Horn
Gary Pigg   Background Vocals,Children's Chorus
Denis Solee   Horn
George Tidwell   Horn
Felicia Sorensen   Background Vocals
Taylor Harris   Drums
Lisa Cochran   Background Vocals
Scott Krippayne   Piano
Landon Pigg   Children's Chorus
Pete Orta   Track Performer
Irish Film Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Michael Ripoll   Guitar
Tim Acres   Piano
Terri White   Background Vocals
Kent Hooper   Keyboards
Gabe Pigg   Children's Chorus
Ashley Anderson   Children's Chorus
Abel Orta   Bass
Ken Lewis   Percussion
Ronnie Brooks   Guitar
Tim Davis   Background Vocals
Daniel O'Lannerghty   Bass

Technical Credits

Mel Tormé   Composer
Buck Ram   Composer
Kim Gannon   Composer
Dan Garcia   overdub engineer
Chris Harris   Arranger,Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Tom Howard   Arranger
Walter Kent   Composer
Hugh Martin   Composer
Chris McDonald   Horn Arrangements
Alan Moore   Vocal Arrangements
Robert Wells   Composer
Ralph Blane   Composer
Judith Volz   Executive Producer
William Sandys   Composer
Phillips Brooks   Composer
John Mason Neale   Composer
Fred Paragano   overdub engineer
Kent Hooper   Programming,Engineer
Traditional   Composer
Lewis Redner   Composer
Daniel O'Lannerghty   Contributor

Customer Reviews