Christopher Cross

Christopher Cross

by Christopher CrossChristopher Cross
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Christopher Cross' debut was a huge hit and widely acclaimed, at least among industry professionals (critics didn't give it a second listen), leading to multi-platinum success and Grammys. In retrospect, it might seem like the kind of success that's disproportional to the record itself, especially to hipper-than-thou younger generations, but in truth, Christopher Cross was a hell of a record -- it just was a hell of a soft rock record, something that doesn't carry a lot of weight among most audiences. That doesn't erase Cross' considerable gifts as a craftsman. Yes, he does favor sentimentality and can be very sweet on the ballads, but his melodicism is rich and construction tight, so there's a sturdy foundation for the classy professional gloss provided by his studio pros and friends, including indelible backing vocals by Michael McDonald. And while the hits like the dreamy "Sailing" and the surging "Ride Like the Wind" deserved all the attention, they're hardly the only highlights here -- to borrow a sports metaphor, this has a deep bench, and there's not a weak moment here. In fact, soft rock albums hardly ever came better than this, and it remains one of the best mainstream albums of its time.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/03/2009
Label: Rhino Flashback
UPC: 0081227988043
catalogNumber: 3383
Rank: 4888

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Christopher Cross   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Soloist
Don Henley   Vocals,Background Vocals
Eric Johnson   Guitar,Soloist
Michael McDonald   Vocals,Background Vocals
Larry Carlton   Guitar
Victor Feldman   Percussion,Vibes
Valerie Carter   Vocals,Background Vocals
Nicolette Larson   Vocals,Background Vocals
Rob Meurer   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Celeste,Keyboards,Electric Piano
Stormie Omartian   Vocals,Background Vocals
Lenny Castro   Percussion
Assa Drori   Concert Master
Chuck Findley   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Horn
Jay Graydon   Guitar
Jim Horn   Saxophone
Jackie Kelso   Saxophone
Myrna Matthews   Vocals,Background Vocals
Marti McCall   Vocals
Marty McCall   Background Vocals
Lew McCreary   Trombone
Michael Omartian   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Tomás Ramírez   Saxophone,Soloist
Don Roberts   Saxophone
Andy Salmon   Bass
J.D. Souther   Vocals,Background Vocals
Tommy Taylor   Drums

Technical Credits

Christopher Cross   Arranger
Rob Meurer   Arranger
Chet Himes   Engineer
Michael Omartian   Arranger,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Gavin Sutherland   Composer
Jimmy Newhouse   Concept
Flournoy Holmes   Artwork
Stuart Gitlin   Engineer

Customer Reviews