Classical Philosophy in a Nutshell

Classical Philosophy in a Nutshell

by Michael Moore

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 $8.99 Save 11% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $8.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


From Socrates' fascinating discussions of morality and virtue to Pythagoras' attempts to understand the arrangement of the cosmos, the thinkers of the ancient world provided us with an astonishing array of ideas that has helped to shape the modern world.

Ranging across Ancient Greek and Roman philosophy from Anaximander to Plotinus, Classical Philosophy in a Nutshell explains important ideas such as Plato's Theory of Forms, Zeno's Paradox, and the Stoicism of Marcus Aurelius.

Filled with helpful diagrams and simple summaries of complex theories, this essential introduction brings the great ideas of antiquity to everyone.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781789504293
Publisher: Arcturus Publishing
Publication date: 01/15/2019
Series: Knowledge in a Nutshell , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 7 MB

About the Author

Michael Moore is a doctoral student in philosophy at the University of Chicago. He specializes in the ideas of Plato and Aristotle and in the works of Epicurus, Plotinus, and Lucretius among others. While his primary concern is philosophy, he enjoys classical poetry, drama, and literature.

Seeking to bring the ideas of the Ancient Greeks and Romans to a wider audience, he runs a blog at\

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 - What is Classical Philosophy?
Chapter 2 - Thales, Anaximander, Anaximenes
Chapter 3 - Anaxagoras and Archelaus
Chapter 4 - Empedocles
Chapter 5 - Parmenides and Zeno
Chapter 6 - Pythagoras and his disciples
Chapter 7 - Heraclitus
Chapter 8 - The Atomists
Chapter 9 - The Sophists
Chapter 10 - Socrates
Chapter 11 - Plato
Chapter 12 - Aristotle
Chapter 13 - The Alexandrian School
Chapter 14 - The Sceptics
Chapter 15 - The Stoics
Chapter 16 - Epicurus
Chapter 17 - Lucretius
Chapter 18 - Seneca
Chapter 19 - Epictetus
Chapter 20 - Marcus Aurelius
Chapter 21 - Plotinus
Chapter 22 - The Legacies of Classical Philosophy

Customer Reviews