Complete Greatest Hits

Complete Greatest Hits

by Gordon LightfootGordon Lightfoot


$9.99 $14.99 Save 33% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $14.99. You Save 33%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


There must be something in the water, or the beer, but Canada has given the world some of the strongest singer-songwriters of the modern pop era. Gordon Lightfoot emerged in the mid-'60s, first as a composer and soon after as a noted performer whose virile yet sensitive voice and striking songs quickly established him as one of the most gifted folk-inspired artists in a era bursting with talent. By the 1970s, Lightfoot went on to reach superstardom with a series of hit albums and singles. Complete Greatest Hits provides a career overview drawing on many of the Canadian bard’s signature songs, touching on those that first drew public attention (“Early Morning Rain,” “For Lovin’ Me,” “Pussywillows, Cat-tails”) before moving forward into the glory years (“If You Could Read My Mind,” “Sundown,” “Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald”) and beyond (“Stay Loose,” “Restless,” “Daylight Katy”). Although Hits only scratches the surface of Lightfoot’s rich oeuvre, it provides a fine entry point to explore the work of a genuine legend.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/02/2002
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227828721
catalogNumber: 78287
Rank: 337

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gordon Lightfoot   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
David Rea   Guitar
Vesta   Background Vocals
Victor Feldman   Percussion
James Newton Howard   Synthesizer
David Foster   Keyboards
Doug Riley   Piano,Electric Piano
Jim Gordon   Percussion,Drums
Robbie Buchanan   Synthesizer
Kenny Buttrey   Percussion,Drums
Pee Wee Charles   Pedal Steel Guitar
Chip Young   Guitar
Mitchell Clarke   Bassoon
Vassar Clements   Fiddle
Terry Clements   Guitar,Background Vocals
Nick DeCaro   Piano,Accordion
Vern Dorge   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Michael Francis   Guitar
Buddy Harman   Drums
Hoyt Hawkins   Background Vocals
Mike Heffernan   Keyboards
Milt Holland   Percussion
Roy M. "Junior" Husky   Bass
Jim Isbell   Drums
Sheree Jeacocke   Background Vocals
Barry Keane   Percussion,Drums,Tambourine,Hand Drums
Millie Kirkham   Background Vocals
Michael Landau   Guitar
Bill Lee   Bass
Herb Lovelle   Drums
Bob Mann   Guitar
Gene Martynec   Moog Synthesizer
Richard Marx   Background Vocals
Neal Matthews   Background Vocals
Hugh McCracken   Guitar
Suzie McCune   Background Vocals
Laverna Moore   Background Vocals
Farrell Morris   Percussion
Dean Parks   Guitar
Herb Pedersen   Background Vocals
Dennis Pendrith   Bass
Lou Pomanti   Organ
Hargus "Pig" Robbins   Piano
James Rolleston   Bass
Red Shea   Dobro,Guitar
Jerry Shook   Guitar
Catherine Smith   Background Vocals
John Stockfish   Bass
Gordon Stoker   Background Vocals
Henry Strzelecki   Bass
Tom Szczesniak   Bass,Keyboards
Jackie Ward   Background Vocals
Jack Zaza   Harmonica,Bass Clarinet,Alto Flute,Harmonium,English Horn,Recorder,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Charlie McCoy   Guitar,Harmonica,Celeste,Bells
Ray C. Walker   Background Vocals
Rick Haynes   Bass,Background Vocals
Bruce Langhorn   Guitar

Technical Credits

Gordon Lightfoot   Composer,Producer
Doug Riley   String Arrangements
John Simon   Producer,String Arrangements
Hugh Brown   Art Direction
John Court   Producer
Nick DeCaro   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Ken Friesen   Producer
Bill Inglot   Producer
Elliot Mazer   Producer
Dean Parks   String Arrangements
Lenny Waronker   Producer
Joseph Wissert   Producer
Thane Tierney   Liner Notes
Tom Bert   Cover Photo
Leigh Hall   Liner Note Coordination

Customer Reviews