Contemporary Jazz Christmas

Contemporary Jazz Christmas


4 New & Used Starting at $1.99


This Christmas collection is a sampler featuring various GRP artists playing Yuletide favorites. Although associated with so-called contemporary jazz, most of the interpretations by the musicians are either straight-ahead or lightly funky. Heard from on the CD are George Howard, B.B. King ("Merry Christmas Baby"), Tom Scott, Phil Perry, Chick Corea's Elektric Band ("God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen"), Spyro Gyra ("I'll Be Home for Christmas"), Nelson Rangell (playing piccolo on a fine version of "Let It Snow, Let It Snow"), David Benoit, Lee Ritenour, Diane Schuur, Russ Freeman of the Rippingtons, and Dave Grusin. High-quality background music that should please fans of the idiom.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/07/1997
Label: Mca Special Products
UPC: 0011105988728
catalogNumber: 9887

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gerald Albright   Saxophone
Michael Franks   Vocals
Frank Gambale   Guitar
George Howard   Soprano Saxophone,Track Performer
Pat Kelley   Guitar
John Patitucci   Bass,Electric Bass
Nelson Rangell   Piccolo,Track Performer
Diane Schuur   Vocals,Track Performer
Tom Scott   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Spyro Gyra   Track Performer
John Beasley   Synthesizer
Tom Schuman   Piano
Dwayne Smith   Electric Bass
Phil Perry   Vocals,Background Vocals
Brad Dutz   Percussion
Michael Abene   Piano
Jay Beckenstein   Alto Saxophone
David Benoit   Piano,Track Performer
James Bolden   Trumpet
Oskar Cartaya   Bass
Kevin Chokan   Guitar
Tony Coleman   Tambourine
Armando Anthony Corea   Piano,Track Performer
Dave Grusin   Piano,Track Performer
Mike Doster   Bass
Calep Emphrey   Drums
Mark Falchook   Keyboards
Chuck Findley   Flugelhorn
Johnny Friday   Drums,Timbales
Ray Griffin   Drums
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Chip Jackson   Bass
Munyungo Jackson   Percussion
B.B. King   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Walter King   Alto Saxophone
Joe La Barbera   Drums
Eric Marienthal   Saxophone
Harvey Mason   Drums
Tom McMorran   Piano
Dan Neufeld   Viola
Dave Ratajczak   Drums
Lee Ritenour   Guitar,Track Performer
Joel Rosenblatt   Drums
David Samuels   Vibes,Mallet Synthesizer
David Shamban   Cello
Haim Shtrum   Violin
Darryl Otis Smith   Keyboards
Neil Stubenhaus   Bass
James Toney   Piano
Leon Warren   Guitar
Tom Warrington   Bass
Dave Weckl   Drums

Technical Credits

Felix Mendelssohn   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
José Feliciano   Composer
George Howard   Arranger
Tom Scott   Programming
Mel Tormé   Composer
Page Cavanaugh   Composer
Buck Ram   Composer
Michael Abene   Arranger
Jay Beckenstein   Arranger
Armando Anthony Corea   Arranger
Dave Grusin   Arranger
Kim Gannon   Composer
Walter Kent   Composer
Lee Ritenour   Arranger
Jack Smalley   Composer
Jule Styne   Composer
Robert Wells   Composer
Charles Wesley   Composer
Isabelle Wong   Graphic Design
Hollis King   Art Direction
William Sandys   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Alfred S. Burt   Composer
Russ Freeman   Arranger,Instrumentation

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews