by Conor MaynardConor Maynard


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Discovered after uploading several cover versions on YouTube, mentored by an R&B ladies man and an advocate of breathy urban pop, it's understandable why 19-year-old Conor Maynard has been labeled Brighton's answer to Justin Bieber. He may share a bizarrely similar backstory, but his debut album, Contrast, has more in common with the Justin that's since been lost to the big-screen rather than the Canadian teen idol. Indeed, there are strong echoes of Timberlake's Justified throughout its 12 tracks, from his fondness for falsetto a cappella lines and suggestive lyrics, to the slick, spacey, disco-funk of "Lift Off" and the dramatic balladry of "Glass Girl," both of which are produced by former JT cohort Pharrell Williams. His tender years and his rather awkward stage presence mean his Lothario routine never truly convinces, but that doesn't detract from what is a consistently strong first half, whether it's the sparse, seductive lead single "Can't Say No," the elasticated synth pop of "Animal," or the pulsing Euro-dance of "Turn Around," the latter of which features the man who's helped to guide his fledgling career, Ne-Yo. It's rather frustrating, then, that for an artist who has worked so hard to distance himself from the usual teen fodder, the rest of Contrast is as generic as they come. Rihanna clone Rita Ora lends her unremarkable vocals to the equally unremarkable dubstep-lite "Better Than You," the identikit urban-electro of "Take Off" fails to reach the heights its title suggests, and "Another One" is the kind of formulaic, synth-led R&B that has somehow resurrected Chris Brown's career. Nevertheless, those who have been waiting for what seems like an eternity for Timberlake to return to the music scene could do worse than check out Contrast, which although rather front-loaded, is perhaps the most confident and mature teen pop debut of recent years.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/08/2013
Label: Wb / Parlophone
UPC: 0603497914005
catalogNumber: 791400
Rank: 51088

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Conor Maynard   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Jon Mills   Drums,Keyboards
Jon Shave   Keyboards
Steve Antony   Keyboards
Ne-Yo   Vocals
Jason Pebworth   Keyboards
George Astasio   Guitar,Keyboards
Rita Ora   Vocals
Ray D'jan   Guitar,Keyboards
Dion Wardle   Keyboards
Kyle James Abrahams   Keyboards
Ashton Foster   Background Vocals
Peter Ighile   Keyboards
Kurtis McKenzie   Keyboards
Nathaniel Ledwidge   Keyboards
John Lundvik   Background Vocals
Antonio Golson   Keyboards
Joey Dyer   Keyboards
Arcade   Drums

Technical Credits

Dan Stein   Additional Production
Scott Thomas   Composer
David Titlow   Cover Photo
Pharrell Williams   Composer,Producer
Stargate   Producer
Benny Blanco   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Detonate   Producer
Andrew Coleman   Arranger,Engineer
Jon Mills   Composer,Programming
Andreas "Quiz" Romdhane   Programming,Instrumentation
Danny D.   Executive Producer,Management
Invisible Men   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Dan Sanders   Art Direction
Josef Larossi   Composer,Programming,Instrumentation
Jon Shave   Programming
Bruce Waynne   Producer,Engineer
Dirty Swift   Producer,Engineer
Steve Antony   Programming
Miles Walker   Engineer
Rick Santizo   Vocal Engineer
Jason Pebworth   Programming
George Astasio   Programming
Mikkel Storleer Eriksen   Composer,Programming,Engineer,Instrumentation
Eagle Eye   Producer
Larossi   Producer,Engineer
Tim Blacksmith   Executive Producer,Management
Celetia Martin   Composer
Rita Ora   Composer
Tor Erik Hermansen   Composer,Programming,Instrumentation
Andreas Romdhane   Composer
Lucas Secon   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
B. Levin   Composer
K. Risto   Composer
W. Nugent   Composer
Mike Larson   Arranger,Programming,Engineer
Liam Nolan   Vocal Engineer
Wez Clarke   Programming
Tony Nilsson   Composer
Ray D'jan   Composer
Richard Welland   Art Direction
Mohombi   Composer
Dion Wardle   Composer
Kyle James Abrahams   Composer,Programming
Parker & James   Producer
Ashton Foster   Composer
Sophie Stern   Composer
Peter Ighile   Composer,Programming
Nikolas Marzouka   Arranger
Ryan Woodcock   Engineer,Vocal Engineer,Vocal Editing
Kurtis McKenzie   Composer,Programming
Conor Maynard   Composer
Nathaniel Ledwidge   Composer,Programming
John Buchanan   Composer
Christopher Breaux   Composer
Dave Tindall   Vocal Editing
Joey Dyer   Composer,Programming
Arcade   Programming,Producer

Customer Reviews