Country Folk

Country Folk

by The Carter FamilyThe Carter Family


$21.88 $22.99 Save 5% Current price is $21.88, Original price is $22.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Those looking for a comprehensive, cheaply priced compilation of the Carter Family's work will be more than satisfied with this four-disc set from Proper Records. Clocking in at 103 songs, it spans the entire length of the Carters' career, from their initial recording sessions in Bristol, VA (the same sessions that helped make Bristol the birthplace of country music) to the trio's final studio appearance in 1941. Some key songs are missing, most notably "Will the Circle be Unbroken," but Country Folk stills offers a better summary of the Carter Family than most collections. A 44-page booklet is also included, featuring an enjoyable and detailed narrative that traces the group's history alongside the compilation's tracks.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/04/2007
Label: Proper Box Uk
UPC: 0805520021272
catalogNumber: 127
Rank: 93139


Disc 1

  1. Bury Me Under the Weeping Willow
  2. Little Log Cabin by the Sea
  3. The Poor Orphan Child
  4. The Storms Are on the Ocean
  5. Single Girl, Married Girl
  6. The Wandering Boy
  7. Meet by the Moonlight Alone
  8. Little Darling Pal of Mine
  9. Keep on the Sunny Side
  10. Anchored in Love
  11. John Hardy Was a Desperate Little Man
  12. I Ain't Gonna Work Tomorrow
  13. Will You Miss Me When I'm Gone
  14. River of Jordan
  15. Chewing Gum
  16. Wildwood Flower
  17. Motherless Children
  18. When the Roses Bloom in Dixieland
  19. No Telephone in Heaven
  20. The Western Hobo
  21. Carter's Blues
  22. Wabash Cannonball
  23. A Distant Land to Roam
  24. Jimmie Brown the Newsboy
  25. Kitty Waltz

Disc 2

  1. The Cannonball
  2. The Little Log Hut in the Lane
  3. When the World's on Fire
  4. Worried Man Blues
  5. Lonesome Valley
  6. On the Rock Where Moses Stood
  7. Lonesome Pine Special
  8. No More the Moon Shines on Lorena
  9. Darling Nellie Across the Sea
  10. Sow 'Em on the Mountain
  11. Weary Prodigal Son
  12. When I'm Gone
  13. Sunshine in the Shadows
  14. Lonesome for You
  15. Can't Feel at Home
  16. 'Mid the Green Fields of Virginia
  17. Happiest Days of All
  18. Picture on the Wall
  19. Amber Tresses
  20. I Never Loved But One
  21. Tell Me That You Love Me
  22. Where We'll Never Grow Old
  23. We Will March Through the Streets of the City
  24. I'll Be Home Someday
  25. Faded Coat of Blue
  26. The Sailor Boy

Disc 3

  1. My Dixie Darling
  2. Give Me Your Love and I'll Give You Mine
  3. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
  4. The Last Move for Me
  5. The Wayworn Traveller
  6. Just Another Broken Heart
  7. When Silver Threads Are Gold Again
  8. There's No One Like Mother to Me
  9. In a Little Village Churchyard
  10. Jealous Hearted Me
  11. My Native Home
  12. Sweet Heaven in My View
  13. No Depression (In Heaven)
  14. Bonnie Blue Eyes
  15. My Honey Lou
  16. In the Shadow of the Pines
  17. Answer to Weeping Willow
  18. You've Been a Friend to Me
  19. Where the Silvery Colorado Wends Its Way
  20. Lay My Head Beneath the Rose
  21. The Broken Down Tramp
  22. Lover's Lane
  23. Hold Fast to the Right
  24. Lord, I'm in Your Care
  25. Funny When You Feel That Way
  26. In the Shadow of Clinch Mountain

Disc 4

  1. Hello Stranger
  2. Never Let the Devil Get the Upper Hand of You
  3. When This Evening Sun Goes Down
  4. Jim Blake's Message
  5. Honey in the Rock
  6. Look How This World Has Made a Change
  7. The Little Girl That Played Upon My Knee
  8. You Better Let That Liar Alone
  9. Farewell Nellie
  10. The Only Girl I Ever Cared About
  11. Goodbye to the Plains
  12. My Home's Across the Blue Ridge Mountains
  13. Dark Haired True Lover
  14. He Never Came Back
  15. Why Do You Cry, Little Darling?
  16. You Tied a Love Knot in My Heart
  17. Lonesome Homesick Blues
  18. Dark and Stormy Weather
  19. In the Valley of Shenandoah
  20. The Girl on the Greenbriar Shore
  21. Something Got a Hold of Me
  22. Fifty Miles of Elbow Room
  23. Keep on the Firing Line
  24. Waves on the Sea
  25. Rambling Boy
  26. You're Gonna Be Sorry You Let Me Down

Album Credits

Customer Reviews