Country Music Pioneer 1927-1935

Country Music Pioneer 1927-1935

by Clarence AshleyClarence Ashley


$28.92 $28.99 Save 0% Current price is $28.92, Original price is $28.99. You Save 0%.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/04/2015
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065718626
catalogNumber: 77186


Disc 1

  1. The Coo Coo Bird
  2. The House Carpenter
  3. Penitentiary Bound
  4. Cincinnati Breakdown
  5. The Old Arm Chair
  6. One Dark and Stormy Night
  7. Little Sadie
  8. Sideline Blues
  9. Baby All Night Long
  10. Washington and Lee Swing
  11. Goodnight Waltz
  12. Old John Hardy
  13. Naomi Wise
  14. Sadie Ray
  15. Bay Rum Blues
  16. Ain't No Use to High Hat Me
  17. Drunk Man Blues
  18. Go Way and Let Me Sleep
  19. My North Carolina Home
  20. Honeysuckle Rag
  21. Short Life of Trouble
  22. You Are a Little Too Smal
  23. Frankie Silvers
  24. Three Men Went a Huntin'

Disc 2

  1. The Little Black Train is Coming
  2. The Broken Wedding
  3. Nobody's Business
  4. Down in Tennessee Valley
  5. Train Whistle Blues
  6. The Blind Boy
  7. Six Months in Jail Ain't Long
  8. Empty Pocket Blues
  9. Mother's in Heaven Tonight
  10. Frankie Baker, Pt. 1
  11. Frankie Baker, Pt. 2
  12. Heave Ho - The Anchor
  13. Don't Get Married
  14. My Own True Lover
  15. Look Out for the Window
  16. Ramblin' Hobo Blues
  17. The Bootlegger's Lullaby
  18. Going Around the World
  19. I'm Always Thinking of You
  20. Where the Silvery Colorado Wends Its Way
  21. The Broken Wedding
  22. I'm Always Thinking of You
  23. Sunshine and Shadows
  24. Goodbye My Lover, Goodbye
  25. Reuben Oh Reuben

Disc 3

  1. Dark Holler Blues
  2. Haunted Road Blues
  3. Times Ain't Like They Used to Be
  4. Corrina, Corrina
  5. Rude and Rambling Man
  6. The Train's Done Left Me
  7. There's a Man Going Round Taking Names
  8. Peg and Awl
  9. The Hills of Tennessee
  10. Careless Love
  11. Lay Down Baby Take Your Rest
  12. Can't You Remember When Your Heart Was Mine
  13. Rising Sun Blues
  14. The Old Grey Goose
  15. Somebody's Tall and Handsome
  16. I'll Be Washed
  17. Over at Tom's House
  18. Fiddler's Contest
  19. My Sweet Farm Girl
  20. Greenback Dollar
  21. I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow
  22. Jennie My Own True Love
  23. The Day I Left Home
  24. Blood Stained Dress

Disc 4

  1. I'm a Man of Constant Sorrow
  2. Let That Liar Alone
  3. A Railroad Lover for Me
  4. Down South Blues
  5. Sugar Baby
  6. Country Blues
  7. Sammie, Where Have You Been So Long
  8. Old Rub Alcohol Blues
  9. False Hearted Lover's Blues
  10. Lost Love Blues
  11. Will Sweethearts Know Each Other There
  12. Danville Girl
  13. Pretty Polly
  14. New Prisoner's Song
  15. Hard Luck Blues
  16. Old Rub Alcohol Blues
  17. Will Sweethearts Know Each Other There
  18. Lost Love Blues
  19. Cotton Eyed Joe
  20. Tennesse Girls
  21. Twilight Is Stealing
  22. Far Beyond the Blue Sky
  23. Golden Slippers
  24. Shortening Bread

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clarence Ashley   Primary Artist,Banjo,Guitar,Vocals,Spoken Word
Walter Davis   Guitar,Spoken Word
Dock Boggs   Banjo,Vocals
Clarence Green   Fiddle,Vocals,Tenor (Vocal),Spoken Word
Gwen Foster   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Spoken Word
Emry Arthur   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Garley Foster   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Byrd Moore   Bass,Guitar,Bass (Vocal),Vocals
John Dykes   Fiddle,Vocals
Pat Harrison   Compield
Hub Mahaffey   Guitar
Myrtle Vermillion   Autoharp,Vocals
Will Abernathy   Guitar,Harmonica,Autoharp,Vocals,Spoken Word
Henry Arthur   Banjo,Steel Guitar,Vocals
Dock Walsh   Banjo,Vocals,Spoken Word
Della Hatfield   Vocals
G.H. "Hub" Mahaffey   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Pat Harrison   Liner Notes,Annotation

Customer Reviews