Cowboy Sally's Twilight Laments for Lost Buckaroos

Cowboy Sally's Twilight Laments for Lost Buckaroos

by Sally Timms


$9.57 $10.99 Save 13% Current price is $9.57, Original price is $10.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 24
4 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Sally Timms envisions COWBOY SALLY'S TWILIGHT LAMENTS FOR LOST BUCKAROOS as an album of lullabies. Fittingly, the often sharp-tongued member of the Mekons sings these songs sweetly, in her smooth, intimate, and soulful alto, and sets them to traditional countrypolitan and Western swing instrumentation that's mostly acoustic, often waltzing, and always pretty. Unfortunately, the album fails in the lullaby category for two reasons: (1) the songs are just too damn good and the performances too nuanced to let your consciousness drift to sleep; and (2) even if you did nod off, unsettling visions of mysterious strangers, Dr. Strangelove, and parting lovers would infiltrate your dreams. Timms recruited a set of superb "art-country" (as she calls them) writers to provide songs: In addition to her own collaborations with Waco Brother and fellow-Mekon Jon Langford, the Handsome Family contribute a pair of unsettling narratives; Robbie Fulks demonstrates his versatility with "In Bristol Town One Bright Day," which sounds like an ancient British Child ballad; and Wilco's Jeff Tweedy continues in his MERMAID AVENUE phase by writing music for the wistful traditional tune "When the Roses Bloom Again." Add songs by Guy Lawrence and Jill Sobule, and a Johnny Cash classic, and you've got a seductive mix of stellar tunes perfect for bedtime, but you won't want to fall asleep and risk missing any of them.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/02/1999
Label: Bloodshot Records
UPC: 0744302006123
catalogNumber: 20061
Rank: 42399

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sally Timms   Primary Artist,Vocals,10-string Guitar
Jon Langford   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Steve Rosen   Fiddle
Tom Ray   Upright Bass
John Herndon   Drums,sleigh bells
Robbie Fulks   Acoustic Guitar
Brett Sparks   Vocals
Harry Trumfio   Steel Drums
Jane Baxter-Miller   Vocals
Andrew Bird   Violin
Fred Armisen   Latin Percussion
Andon T. Davis   Electric Guitar
Jessica Billey   Violin
Celine   Acoustic Guitar
Barry Mills   Vocals
Jon Rauhouse   Banjo,Mandolin,Pedal Steel Guitar,Vocals,Hawaiian Guitar

Technical Credits

Richard Barone   Songwriter
Jon Langford   Producer
Mark Schwarz   Engineer
Sally Timms   Producer
Brendan Burke   Engineer
Celine   Instrumentation
Traditional   Composer
Dave Trumfio   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews