Crash Love

Crash Love


CD(German Import)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Goth-punk firebrands AFI follow up their smash 2006 effort, Decemberunderground, with the propulsive blast of alterna-glam that is 2009's Crash Love. Sticky with epic swaths of melodic rock and just enough swaggering goth-itude to please the emo-tweens, Crash Love is less mannered than its predecessor and reveals a band exploding with a creative power pop and metal spark. Though lead singer Davey Havok's glitter-goth persona is well intact, it seems tempered here with a bit more punkish muscle and '80s pop croon. These songs have madly obsessive hooks along with a sparkling production that never sacrifices the hard rock energy at the core of each song. In that sense, such tracks as "Too Shy to Scream," with its tribal drumbeat homage to Adam Ant's "Goody Two Shoes," and the swooning romantic anthem "Veronica Sawyer Smokes" come as double ice cream scoops of sugary rock bliss. Think equal parts solo Morrissey and the Raspberries and you are pretty close. Similarly moving is the pyrrhic mid-album rock ballad "Okay, I Feel Better Now," with Havok's cries of "I died for the last lie/And the heartbreak for the first time/I could not take 'til I made you cry." However, AFI are anything but saccharine, and tracks like the epic fist-pumping leadoff single, "Medicate," with its slabs of distorted Jimmy Page-esque lead guitar lines, and the equally blood pressure-raising "I Am Trying Very Hard to Be Here" are both kick-butt rockers and dancefloor-ready rave-ups. Ultimately, AFI have lightened up the band's darkly sexy vibe on Crash Love and delivered a yearning, perfect pop
ock crush of an album.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/29/2009
Label: Imports
UPC: 0602527172170
catalogNumber: 5003260
Rank: 87733

Album Credits

Performance Credits

AFI   Primary Artist
Julie Delgado   Background Vocals
Luke Wood   Background Vocals
Davey Havok   Vocals,Group Member
Jade Puget   Guitar,Group Member
Adam Carson   Drums,Group Member
Nick 13   Background Vocals
Benoît Grey   Background Vocals
Kennard Ramsey   Background Vocals
Luke Wood   Background Vocals
Dan Under   Background Vocals
Hunter Burgan   Bass,Group Member
Kenna Ramsey   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Joe McGrath   Producer,Engineer
AFI   Composer,Producer
Andrew Scheps   Engineer
Jake Davies   Engineer
Mike Fasano   Drum Technician
Todd Parker   Engineer
Tom McFall   Engineer
Seth Waldmann   Engineer
Jacknife Lee   Producer
John Silas Cranfield   Engineer

Customer Reviews