Crocodiles [Bonus Tracks]

Crocodiles [Bonus Tracks]

by Echo & the BunnymenEcho & the Bunnymen

CD(Bonus Tracks / Remastered)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Emerging at the dawn of the '80s, alongside such northern England post-punk legends as The Fall and Joy Division, Echo & the Bunnymen sounded different even at the outset. Their 1980 debut album was a bundle of nerves, from Will Sergeant's anxiously chiming guitars on "Rescue" to the taut rhythm section driving "Pictures on My Wall" to Ian McCulloch's poetic confessional on "Stars Are Stars." Part of Rhino's extravagant 2004 Bunnymen reissue series, this expanded edition of Crocodiles doubles the original track length. Among the extra material are two singles originally tacked on to the U.S. version -- the Doorsy, organ-drenched "Do It Clean" and "Read It in Books" -- plus the B-side "Simple Stuff." The remaining material, including three previously unissued early versions, is an even bigger boon to Echo fans. Originally released on the 1981 EP Shine So Hard, the four live cuts make their CD debut here, and they find the Bunnymen cutting lose, as McCulloch allows his inner Jim Morrison to surface on the title track. The band also preview a couple new songs: "Zimbo" (a.k.a. "All My Colours"), a rhythmic showcase for drummer Pete De Freitas, and an extended version of the paranoid, romantic "Over the Wall" (both would turn up on Heaven Up Here). With an updated booklet featuring a new essay and lots of photos, Crocodiles is an essential early post-punk primer.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2004
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0825646116126
catalogNumber: 61161
Rank: 8160

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Echo & the Bunnymen   Primary Artist
David Balfe   Keyboards
Ian McCulloch   Guitar,Vocals
Pattinson   Bass
Will Sergeant   Guitar
Pete de Freitas   Drums

Technical Credits

Julian Cope   Composer
David Balfe   Producer
John Brierly   Engineer
Ian Broudie   Producer,Original Album Producer
Brian Griffin   Cover Photo
Rod Houison   Engineer
Bill Inglot   Reissue Producer
Hugh Jones   Engineer
Ian McCulloch   Composer
Pattinson   Composer
Will Sergeant   Composer
Pete de Freitas   Composer
Rachel Gutek   Art Direction
Bill Drummond   Producer
Andy Zax   Reissue Producer
Max Bell   Liner Notes
Bill Butt   Insert Photography
Chameleons   Producer

Customer Reviews