by CultureCulture


$10.92 $11.99 Save 9% Current price is $10.92, Original price is $11.99. You Save 9%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


As roots reggae harmony groups go, Culture has always been a bit unique. Wholly dominated by the mystical and strangely charismatic lead singer and songwriter Joseph Hill, Culture has always dealt in simple (some would say simplistic) and yet absurdly catchy melodies, astringent harmonies and lyrics of the very dreadest character -- very few love songs, very few party songs, just lots and lots of dire warnings issued to Babylon and its fellow travellers. Although the band is most commonly praised for its work with producer Joe Gibbs (most notably the stone classic Two Sevens Clash album), many the tracks Culture recorded under the supervision of Sonia Pottinger are every bit as good, and Cumbolo includes ten of the best of those. Just about every song here counts as a highlight, but "Natty Never Get Weary," "Poor Jah People," and a charming adaptation of "This Train" are all particularly good. And the backup is provided by a shifting contingent of Jamaica's studio aristocracy that includes Sly & Robbie, Ansel Collins, and "Deadly" Headley Bennett, among other luminaries. Highly recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/31/2000
Label: Frontline
UPC: 0724385002823
catalogNumber: 50028
Rank: 73917

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Culture   Primary Artist
Ansel Collins   Keyboards
Cedric Brooks   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Radcliffe Bryan   Guitar
Harold Butler   Keyboards
Kenneth Lloyd Dayes   Vocals
Sly Dunbar   Drums
Vin Gordon   Trombone
Felix "Deadly" Headley   Saxophone
Joseph Hill   Vocals
Clive "Azul" Hunt   Trumpet,Saxophone
Earl Lindo   Keyboards
Willie Lindo   Guitar
David Madden   Trumpet
Errol "Ranchie" McLean   Guitar
Ken Paley   Vocals
Michael Richards   Drums
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass
Uziah "Sticky" Thompson   Percussion
Albert Walker   Vocals
Bertram "Ranchie" McLean   Bass,Guitar
Mikey "Boo" Richards   Drums
"Deadly" Headley Bennett   Alto Saxophone

Technical Credits

Errol Brown   Engineer
Roy S. Dayes   Composer
Joseph Hill   Composer
S.E. Pottinger   Producer
Sonia Pottinger   Producer
Albert Walker   Composer

Customer Reviews