Pub. Date:
Lang, Peter Publishing, Incorporated
Da G. a G.: 101 Sonnetti. From G. to G.: 101 Somnets / Edition 1

Da G. a G.: 101 Sonnetti. From G. to G.: 101 Somnets / Edition 1


Current price is , Original price is $60.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


These somnets, written by two established poets in a sort of literary give-and-take - or tug-of-war -, are composite, dreamlike, experimental compositions that test to the limit the self-generating power of the word, the capacity of a sound pattern to resonate, to reverberate within the compositional space until a similar sound is engendered. They are, above all, a celebration of expressive freedom, of the faculty to initiate a difficult journey whose itinerary is as proteiform as the poetic utterance it pursues, ever ready to move in a different direction, to follow the faintest trace, to turn at the slightest provocation.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780820431253
Publisher: Lang, Peter Publishing, Incorporated
Publication date: 11/01/1996
Series: Studies in Southern Italian and Italian American Culture Series , #8
Pages: 207
Product dimensions: 6.50(w) x 1.50(h) x 9.50(d)

About the Author

The Authors: Giose Rimanelli is Professor Emeritus of Italian and Comparative Literature at SUNY-Albany. He has published several novels, among which Tiro al piccione (1953, reprinted 1991) Peccato originale (1954), Biglietto di terza (1958), Una posizione sociale (1959), Graffiti (1977) and Molise Molise (1979). He recently received the American Book Award for his novel Benedetta in Guysterland (1994). To narrative he has added poetry, journalism, theater and literary criticism. Of particular interest are Il mestiere del furbo (1959), The in Casa Picasso (1961), Lares (1962), Il corno francese (1962), Modern Canadian Stories (1966), Tragica America (1968), Italian Literature, Roots and Branches (1976). His books of poetry include Carmina blabla (1967), Monaci d'amore medievali (1967), Poems Make Pictures Pictures Makes Poems (1971), Arcano (1990), Moliseide (1992), Alien Cantica (1995).
Luigi Fontanella received his Ph.D. from Harvard University and is Professor of Italian at SUNY-Stonybrook. He has published seven books of poetry: La verifica incerta (1972), La vita trasparente (1978), Simulazione di reato (1979), Fabula (1979), Stella Saturnina (1989), Round Trip (1991), Parole per Emma (1991). He has also published two books of narrative: the novel Hot Dog (1986) and the collection of short stories Milestone e altre storie (1983). His books of criticism include: Il surrealismo italiano (1983), Tozzi in America (1986), and La parola aleatoria (1992). He is editor of Gradiva, an international journal of Italian literature. In 1994 he was awarded the Ragusa Prize for poetry.

Customer Reviews