Day of the Cheetah (Patrick McLanahan Series #2)

Day of the Cheetah (Patrick McLanahan Series #2)

by Dale Brown

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


In one of his boldest bestsellers, Dale Brown creates a shattering scenario of the ultimate race for technology...

America's most advanced fighter plane, DreamStar, has been hijacked. To retrieve it, Lt. Col. Patrick McLanahan takes on his most daring assignment since the Flight of the Old Dog. The odds are against him. His plane, the Cheetah, is less advanced than the DreamStar. And so begins the greatest high-flying chase of all time...

Product Details

BN ID: 2940149565252
Publisher: Dale Brown
Publication date: 03/05/2014
Series: Patrick McLanahan Series , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 64,039
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Former U.S. Air Force captain Dale Brown is the superstar author of 24 best-selling action-adventure “techno-thriller” novels: FLIGHT OF THE OLD DOG (1987), SILVER TOWER (1988), DAY OF THE CHEETAH (1989), HAMMERHEADS (1990), SKY MASTERS (1991), NIGHT OF THE HAWK (1992), CHAINS OF COMMAND (1993), STORMING HEAVEN (1994), SHADOWS OF STEEL (1996), FATAL TERRAIN (1997), THE TIN MAN (1998), BATTLE BORN, (1999), WARRIOR CLASS (2001), WINGS OF FIRE (2002), AIR BATTLE FORCE (2003), PLAN OF ATTACK (2004), ACT OF WAR (2005), EDGE OF BATTLE (2006), STRIKE FORCE (2007), SHADOW COMMAND (2008), ROGUE FORCES (2009), EXECUTIVE INTENT (2010), A TIME FOR PATRIOTS (2011), and TIGER’S CLAW (2012). His 25th novel, entitled STARFIRE, is scheduled for release in early 2014. He is also the co-author of the best-selling DREAMLAND techno-thriller series and writer and technical consultant of the Act of War PC real-time strategy game published by Atari Interactive, and the Megafortress PC flight simulator by Three-Sixty Pacific. Dale’s novels are published in 11 languages and distributed to over 70 countries. Worldwide sales of his novels, audiobooks, e-books, and computer games exceed 15 million copies.

Dale was born in Buffalo, New York on November 2, 1956. He graduated from Penn State University with a degree in Western European History and received an Air Force commission in 1978. He was a member of the first class of Air Force ROTC cadets to qualify for and complete the grueling three-week U.S. Army Airborne Infantry paratrooper training course at Fort Benning, Georgia in 1977.

Dale was a navigator-bombardier in the B-52G Stratofortress heavy bomber and the FB-111A supersonic medium bomber, and an instructor on aircrew life support and combat survival, evasion, resistance, and escape. He is the recipient of several military decorations and awards including the Air Force Commendation Medal with oak leaf cluster, the Combat Crew Award, and the Marksmanship ribbon.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Day of the Cheetah (Patrick McLanahan Series #2) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Post ur bio uhhh here. Duhhhh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Moves all the way through
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Post your bios here.
otterly More than 1 year ago
Frankly, I wondered why it was that I chose this particular book, since I got a little lost in the aeronautical jargon which was explained at great length in the beginning of the book. I found it interesting that not only men were portrayed as pilots. The main character is a young man trained in Russia to be an undercover agent, and steal secrets while learning to fly a complicated new airplane which he is actually part of as the two of them fly. It is not called The Cheetah--that is the one sent after him when he tries to steal it. I have read other Dale Brown books, I believe. However, I am not sure that it is suitable for book groups.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Kenneth Francis James was the best fighter pilot at DreamLand,Nevada.In 1996,a Russian that looked just like him killed him and took his place at DreamLand. DreamStar, a expermental XF-34 was under James' responsbility. The Russian stole DreamStar. Lt. Col. Patrick McLanahan's F-15 ,Cheetah is less advanced than DreamStar,and so began the greatest high-flying chase of all time.
Phyllis_M More than 1 year ago
I stopped after the first couple of chapters and deleted. First we had the brilliant and highly trained Russian sociopath and moved along to far too much US military jargon and acronyms. By that point I was so bored that I simply quit. There is probably an audience for this book, just not me.