Daytime Serials of Television, 1946-1960

Daytime Serials of Television, 1946-1960

by Jim Cox


View All Available Formats & Editions
1 New & Used Starting at $26.43


The popularity of soap operas on radio made them a natural for the new medium of television, where soaps quickly became an audience favorite. As television soap operas developed, so did the level of sophistication in delivery, writing and production. Even with technical difficulties, clashing actor egos, and hurried production schedules, television managed to corral a massive audience for the continuing narrative, which combined the excitement of the new visual medium with the old-fashioned pleasures of a story well told.

This history of television's "golden age" soaps begins with an overview of earlier serialized entertainments that set the stage for the televised daytime soap. A detailed analysis of early TV soap stars, personnel and production follows, taking 40 programs into account. Ensuing chapters offer in-depth treatments of the serials Search for Tomorrow, Love of Life, The Guiding Light, The Secret Storm, As the World Turns and The Edge of Night. Appendices include chronological and alphabetical directories of period daytime serials and rankings of the durability of programs, actors and actresses, announcers and sponsors.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780786424290
Publisher: McFarland & Company, Incorporated Publishers
Publication date: 05/02/2006
Pages: 246
Product dimensions: 10.00(w) x 7.00(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Jim Cox, a leading radio historian, is an award-winning author of numerous books on the subject. A retired college professor, he lives in Louisville, Kentucky.

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vii

Introduction 1

1. Antecedents of the Daytime Serial 3

2. Bubbles in the Air 13

3. Primitive Stages 23

4. In Need of a Fix 37

5. Alpha and Omega 69

6. The Maven of Matinee 77

7. Reincarnations 89

8. Search for Tomorrow 103

9. Love of Life 120

10. The Guiding Light 132

11. The Secret Storm 146

12. As the World Turns 155

13. The Edge of Night 171

Epilogue: The Land of Beginning Again 184

Appendix A: Daytime Serials Chronology 185

Appendix B: Daytime Serials Superlatives 187

Appendix C: Daytime Serials Directory 189

Chapter Notes 217

Bibliography 223

Index 227

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews