Dear Diz (Every Day I Think of You)

Dear Diz (Every Day I Think of You)

by Arturo SandovalArturo Sandoval


$12.08 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.


Trumpeter Arturo Sandoval's 2012 tribute to legendary jazz trumpeter Dizzy Gillespie, Dear Diz (Every Day I Think of You) is a big-band Latin and Afro-Cuban jazz tour de force. Showcasing Sandoval's long-storied titan bop trumpet chops, Dear Diz frames the Cuban-born virtuoso with layered big-band arrangements on many of Gillespie's best-known compositions. Produced by Gregg Field and Sandoval, the album also features a bevy of name jazz musicians, including Hammond B-3 master Joey DeFrancesco, vibraphonist Gary Burton, tenor saxophonist Bob Mintzer, clarinetist Eddie Daniels, and many more. Included here, among others, are such Gillespie songs as "Salt Peanuts!," "Birks Works," "Con Alma," and, of course, Gillespie's trademark theme, "A Night in Tunisia." Gillespie was Sandoval's biggest musical influence and, after the two met during Gillespie's tour of Cuba in 1977, he became one of Sandoval's most ardent champions, mentors, and friends. In that sense, Dear Diz is clearly a labor of love, a sentiment that permeates this joyously exuberant album.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/08/2012
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072330207
catalogNumber: 33020
Rank: 65823

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Arturo Sandoval   Primary Artist,Trumpet,Vocals
Gary Burton   Vibes,Guest Appearance
Plas Johnson   Tenor Saxophone,Guest Appearance
Bob Mintzer   Tenor Saxophone,Guest Appearance
Bob Sheppard   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Chuck Berghofer   Bass
Ed Calle   Tenor Saxophone,Guest Appearance
Eddie Daniels   Clarinet,Guest Appearance
Joey DeFrancesco   Guest Appearance,Hammond B3
Johnny Friday   Drums
Manolo Gimenez   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Gary Grant   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Dan Higgins   Flute,Alto Flute,Piccolo,Alto Saxophone
Rusty Higgins   Alto Flute,Alto Saxophone
Greg Huckins   Bass Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone
Roland Kato   Viola
Rob Lockart   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Andy Martin   Trombone
Bob McChesney   Trombone
Wally Minko   Piano
Bruce Otto   Trombone
Shelly Berg   Piano
Gregg Field   Drums,Guest Appearance
Brian Scanlon   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Wayne Bergeron   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Joe Pesci   Vocals
Trevor Handy   Cello
Brian Nova   Guitar
Zane Musa   Alto Saxophone,Guest Appearance
Craig Gosnell   Bass Trombone
Willie Murillo   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Joey de Leon   Percussion
Steven Holtman   Trombone
Ralph Morrison   Violin,Concert Master
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Carlitos Del Puerto   Bass
Daniel Fornero   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Freddie Greene   Shaker
Andy Garcia   Bongos,Guest Appearance
Dustin Higgins   Guitar
Munyingo Jackson   Percussion

Technical Credits

Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Gordon Goodwin   Arranger
Arturo Sandoval   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Chano Pozo   Composer
John Burk   Executive Producer
Walter Fuller   Composer
Dan Higgins   Arranger
Wally Minko   Arranger
Don Murray   Engineer
Frank Paparelli   Composer
Shelly Berg   Arranger
Gregg Field   Producer,Engineer
David Ritz   Liner Notes
Eddie Perez   Engineer
Steve Genewick   Engineer
Chris Walden   Arranger
Nan Schwartz   Arranger
Andrew Click   Engineer
Kenneth Clarke   Composer
Gerrit Kinkel   Engineer
Bill Smith   Engineer
Walter Gilbert Fuller   Composer
Dustin Higgins   Engineer
Rob Simon   Liner Notes
Phil Quartararo   Management

Customer Reviews