Decemberunderground [Bonus Tracks]

Decemberunderground [Bonus Tracks]


CD(Bonus Tracks)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


AFI is a band lucky to own fiercely loyal fans who embrace -- and ultimately expect -- the gradual transformation the band has undergone with each album since 1999's Black Sails in the Sunset. Where many bands get called out for signing to a major label or even just maturing their sound over time, AFI fans have chiefly stayed devoted to their ever-evolving goth-punk heroes. With that in mind, Decemberunderground comes as AFI's follow-up to their ambitious major-label smash Sing the Sorrow. Due to the clever production tricks employed on that album, fans might expect even more intricate arrangements, sound effects, and sonic landscapes to emerge from the wintry packaging of Decemberunderground. To an extent this is true, but it's more that the cloudy gloom permeating their career thus far has lifted, allowing a relatively tighter and lighter overall album to emerge. Take the band's traditional prelude for instance: this time it's infused with stirring strings and an uplifting dance-pop beat that is a far cry from the dark and eerie call-to-arms chants of previous albums. And though "Kill Caustic" (and later "Affliction") brings AFI's earlier hardcore punch, if you thought "Girl's Not Grey" was poppy, check out this record's lead single, "Miss Murder." Despite a slightly ominous undertone, the glam-tinged song is damn near playful and sunny amid bouncy rhythms, vaguely industrial beats, background "hey!"s (courtesy of AFI's fan brotherhood, the Despair Faction), and a bassline that could have been swiped from Green Day. The band further dips its hand into new wave exploits ("37mm"), truly stirring choruses ("Summer Shudder"), stark electro vibrations ("Love Like Winter"), and the customary ballad ("Endlessly, She Said"). AFI even comes as close as they probably ever will to sounding like U2 in "The Missing Frame." Somehow, the guys have managed to combine hardcore instincts with dark emo-coated lyrics, synth shimmies, gothic aesthetics, and electronic beats into a sound that still remains wholly AFI. So maybe that's why fans have stuck by the band over all these years. Even as the guys stretch and flex their songwriting muscles, they never fail to remember where they came from, instead using their past work as the foundation to their essential growth. Decemberunderground may have more fully realized doses of pop and electronic music present, but the core of AFI's sound never strays too far from what listeners have grown to love about them in the first place.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/27/2006
Label: Universal Uk
UPC: 0602498586433
catalogNumber: 9858643
Rank: 644

Album Credits

Performance Credits

AFI   Primary Artist
Melisane Maxwell   Background Vocals
Joe McGrath   Background Vocals
John Powe   Background Vocals
Tyler Stewart   Background Vocals
Jerry Finn   Background Vocals
Davey Havok   Vocals,Group Member
Dave McCracken   Keyboards
Jade Puget   Guitar,Keyboards,Group Member
Ralph Saenz   Background Vocals
Adam Carson   Drums,Group Member
Ryan Wilson   Background Vocals
Diana Miranda   Background Vocals
Ronan Harris   Keyboards
Ryan Downey   Background Vocals
Brandan Schieppati   Background Vocals
Keith Barney   Background Vocals
Luke Wood   Background Vocals
Omar Alcibar   Background Vocals
Wallace Deveries   Background Vocals
Christopher Dominey   Background Vocals
Sonia Dubon   Background Vocals
Griselda Gomez   Background Vocals
Brittany Manchatta   Background Vocals
Laura Mathis   Background Vocals
Talia Nissimyan   Background Vocals
Gavin Rattmann   Background Vocals
Jeff Sagud   Background Vocals
Caitlin Sanchez   Background Vocals
Dan Under   Background Vocals
Chris Kelly [Choir Practice]   Background Vocals
Hunter   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Joe McGrath   Engineer
Trent Reznor   Composer
Butch Vig   Producer
Jerry Finn   Producer,Audio Production
AFI   Composer
Dave McCracken   Programming
Jade Puget   Programming
Mike Fasano   Drum Technician
Alan Forbes   Illustrations
Ronan Harris   Programming

Customer Reviews