Definitive Soul

Definitive Soul

by Aretha FranklinAretha Franklin


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


30 Greatest Hits zeroes in on Aretha Franklin's prime recording period for Atlantic, from her breakout in 1967 with "I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You)" through the end of 1974, during which the Queen of Soul truly reigned over the charts -- she averaged over one pop hit every two months. This two-disc set delivers all of her classics ("Respect," "Do Right Woman, Do Right Man," "(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman," "Chain of Fools," "Think," "Spanish Harlem," "Rock Steady"), plus much more excellent material for those who won't recognize much more than the songs (and there are quite a few) that have entered the cultural consciousness ("I Say a Little Prayer," "The Weight," "Spirit in the Dark," "Day Dreaming"). It's a great foundation to any collection that has yet to be equaled by a pair of Rhino sets, the two-volume Very Best of Aretha Franklin from 1994 and Aretha's Best from 2001.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678166822
catalogNumber: 81668
Rank: 26802

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Aretha Franklin   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals
Dr. John   Percussion
Donny Hathaway   Keyboards
Billy Preston   Keyboards
King Curtis   Leader,Brass
Hubert Laws   Flute
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Ellie Greenwich   Vocals
Carolyn Franklin   Background Vocals
Erma Franklin   Background Vocals
Memphis Horns   Horn
Duane Allman   Guitar
Don Arnone   Acoustic Guitar
Barry Beckett   Keyboards
Kenneth Bichel   Synthesizer
Cissy Houston   Vocals
Stanley Clarke   Bass
Tommy Cogbill   Bass
Sammy Creason   Drums
Cornell Dupree   Guitar
James Luther Dickinson   Keyboards
Joe Farrell   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Freeman   Guitar
Eric Gale   Bass
Roger Hawkins   Drums
Eddie Hinton   Guitar
David Hood   Bass
Jimmy Johnson   Guitar
Ray Lucas   Drums
Kenneth Lupper   Organ
Rick Marotta   Drums
Tommy McClure   Bass
Hugh McCracken   Guitar
Chips Moman   Guitar
Pancho Morales   Conga
Spooner Oldham   Hammond Organ,Electric Piano
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Drums
Southern California Community Choir   Choir, Chorus
David Spinozza   Guitar
Richard Tee   Organ
Mike Utley   Keyboards
Jerry Weaver   Guitar
Al Jackson   Drums
Sweethearts of Soul   Background Vocals
Robert "Pops" Popwell   Percussion

Technical Credits

James Cleveland   Director
Aretha Franklin   Composer,Producer
Marvin Gaye   Composer
Joe South   Contributor
King Curtis   Contributor
Quincy Jones   Producer
Carolyn Franklin   Composer
Bobby Lance   Composer
Renaldo Benson   Composer
Eric Clapton   Contributor
Cleveland   Composer
Tom Dowd   Producer
Ahmet Ertegun   Executive Producer
Arif Mardin   Producer
Clarence Paul   Composer
Jerry Wexler   Producer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Larry LeBlanc   Liner Notes
Curtis Ousley   Composer
Fran Robbins   Composer
Morris Broadnax   Composer
Jim Doris   Composer
Ted White   Composer
Don Covay   Composer

Customer Reviews