Descent into Dust

Descent into Dust

by Jacqueline Lepore

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Descent into Dust is an atmospheric, gothic tale that immediately grabs readers with the startling sincerity of being trusted with a very, very dark secret….An unforgettable read.”
—Kathryn Smith, USA Today bestselling author

 

A young widow with an uncertain inheritance; a mysterious guest with unclear motives; a child in peril; and the dark, rain-lashed moors—Descent into Dust begins the Extraordinary Adventures of Emma Andrews, Victorian Lady and Vampire Hunter. The first in a spellbinding historical gothic series, Descent into Dust is ideal for readers of The Historian and Jane Austen fans alike.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061878121
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/23/2010
Pages: 359
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

I am a native Philadelphian, born in South Philly and raised first there, then later in the suburbs. I attended the University of Pennsylvania for both undergraduate and graduate studies, earning a Ph.D. in psychology. I moved with my husband to Maryland immediately after that and have practiced here for more than twenty years as a licensed psychologist. I have three children and a houseful of pets.

Every writer begins as a reader. I cut my teeth on Gothic novels and Nancy Drew mysteries, which I consumed with a voracious appetite, loving every heart-pounding moment of suspense. I began writing when I was in the seventh grade, filling notebooks with unfinished stories of horror, science fiction, and romance. By senior year in high school, I was doing short story collections, but these were never shared-writing was my "dirty little secret."

It was always my dream to write a full-length novel, and I began attempting this in college. I eventually succeeded many years later, and years after that got the courage to "come out" about my peculiar hobby of making up stories. I found a terrific second career as a writer of romantic fiction, but after a while I wanted to challenge myself again to create a new, completely different sort of story. With the Emma Andrews series, I have found my way back to all those Gothic traditions I had treasured growing up. So, I've come full circle and just as Emma found her true self, so have I.

What People are Saying About This

Kathryn Smith

“An atmospheric, gothic tale that immediately grabs readers . . . unforgettable.”

Customer Reviews