Diary of the Madmen [Bonus Tracks]

Diary of the Madmen [Bonus Tracks]

by LenLen

CD(Bonus Tracks)

$13.99 $16.99 Save 18% Current price is $13.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 18%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 20
2 New & Used Starting at $14.14


LEN's 1999 hit "Steal My Sunshine" was an absolute jam. Its Andrea True Connection break and bassline bump meshed seamlessly to Sharon Costanzo's exuberant vocal, and like the best summer songs its lyrical agenda involved little more than getting stupid and lying in the grass. Unfortunately the boozing, partying smash-up that followed LEN's breakthrough killed the combo's momentum dead, and "Sunshine" was relegated to '90s rock compilations. LEN's principals (Costanzo and her producer/vocalist brother, Marc) holed up in a studio, but the sessions stalled out. Still, what was recorded has surfaced in 2005 as Diary of the Madmen, a collection of tracks recorded between 2001 and 2004. Nothing matches the strength of "Sunshine," but overall it's a much more dynamic set than You Can't Stop the Bum Rush. The music is stronger throughout, like in the backgrounds of "Fight," "Get Down," and "People (Come Together)." (The latter samples A Tribe Called Quest and the 1968 Friend & Lover hit "Reach out of the Darkness.") And while LEN's lyrics don't usually progress much past the song titles as emphatics, their sentiments are certainly genuine. "I'm just freaking out 'cause I'm thinking too much," Sharon sings over the pretty strings and softly brushed percussion of "Let It Slide," and repeat collaborator Biz Markie makes a cameo, too. Other standouts: LEN remakes New Edition's "Cool It Now" as fluttery, Off the Wall-style disco, complete with strings, brass, and wah-wah guitar, and "Dante's Inferno" is a slowly bobbing instrumental that approaches acid jazz. There's some throwaway material on Diary of the Madmen, but for drawing from three years of sessions it's remarkably cohesive. It took them awhile, but LEN's sequel to "Sunshine" deserves a listen. [The album was reissued in 2007 minus their cover of "Video Killed the Radio Star" and with the addition of two previously unreleased tracks: "Red Hot Day" and "Rubble."]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/11/2007
Label: Linus
UPC: 0803057007424
catalogNumber: 270074
Rank: 101317

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Len   Primary Artist
Divine Styler   Vocals
Joe Public   Horn
Biz Markie   Guest Appearance
Boz   Rap
Joel Derouin   Violin
Suzie Katayama   Cello
Randy Cooke   Drums
Whitey Don   Guest Appearance
Michael Parnin   Bass,Bass Guitar
Shane Endsley   Horn
Tim Parnin   Guitar
Rob Laidlaw   Bass,Bass Guitar
Double G   Horn
Marc Costanzo   Bass,Vocals
Sharon Costanzo   Vocals
DJ Moves   scratching
Dirty Sanchez   Guitar
Marc   Vocals
Paige   Vocals
Taisuke Ara   Guitar
Tom Beiderman   Horn
Nick Gefucia   Bass
Governor Bolts   Rap
J.O. Smooth   Rap
Martin Lozej   Piano
Spartek McDougall   screams
Stephens McGraff   Drums
Ben Naismith   Horn
Mongoose OReilly   screams
Fisher Oss   Horn
Don Pham   Drums
Planet Pea   Rap
Adam Weir   Piano
Erika   Vocals
Matthew Funes   Viola
Don Pham   Drums
Spartek McDougall   Vocals
Martin Lozej   Piano
Taisuke Ara   Guitar
Jerry   Vocals
Amy   Vocals
Phatal   Rap
Fisher Oss   Horn
Tom Beiderman   Horn
Rich-I-Sax   Horn
Stubs   Rap
Maxi-Bone   Horn
Pam   Vocals
Ben Naismith   Horn
Nick Gefucia   Bass Guitar
Bounzehound Crew   Vocals
Druncness Monster   scratching
Adam Weir   Piano
Mongoose O'Reilly   Vocals
Julie Umbrico   Harp
Nick Pesut   Drums
Trish   Vocals
Joe "Coach" Hanna   Drums
Courtney   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Divine Styler   Audio Production
Rupert Hine   Producer
Victor Florencia   Engineer
Suzie Katayama   String Arrangements
Michael Parnin   Composer,Engineer
Gordie Johnson   Producer,Audio Production
Steven Carty   Art Direction
Marc Costanzo   Producer
DJ Moves   Audio Production
Kirk McNally   Drum Engineering
Bigbossillini   Audio Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews