Divine Discontent

Divine Discontent

by Sixpence None the RicherSixpence None the Richer


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


It's been five years since the breakthrough hit "Kiss Me" catapulted Sixpence None the Richer into platinum-selling, Grammy-nominated crossover success. Fans anxiously awaited a much-discussed follow-up, but Divine Discontent proves that some things are worth the wait. With 13 tracks of confessional poetry, deft production, and cinematic melodies that seep into the consciousness with each new listen, Divine Discontent raises the bar for a band that continually gains new ground with each subsequent release. Surprisingly, despite the project's title, and five years in music industry limbo, Divine Discontent is cheerier than the group's self-titled 1997 release. Opening track "Breathe Your Name" feels like a drive down the highway with the top down, its breezy melody and jaunty strings evoking a sunny freedom. The same holds true for "Waiting on the Sun," penned by Lifehouse's Ron Aniello and Jason Wade, which borders on the Beatlesque. This is no sweet collection of ear candy, however, and Sixpence continue to turn their razor-sharp scrutiny toward such disparate topics as dead-end relationships and the ravages of war. There's anger in the rock-driven "Paralyzed," which tells the story of a journalist killed in Kosovo, but such moments are tempered with love and beauty, as on the psalmlike "Melody of You." Largely, Divine Discontent is about keeping the faith and trusting that everything's gonna be OK -- and there's not much discontent to be found there.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/21/2020
Label: Curb Mod
UPC: 0080688601027
catalogNumber: 886010
Rank: 47238

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sixpence None the Richer   Primary Artist
Van Dyke Parks   Leader
Bruce Dukov   Violin,Concert Master
Richard Todd   French Horn
Dale Baker   Percussion,Drums
Denyse Buffum   Viola
John Catchings   Cello
Larry Corbett   Cello
David Davidson   Violin
Joel Derouin   Violin
Peter Kent   Violin
Anthony LaMarchina   Cello
Brian Leonard   Violin
Jerry Dale McFadden   Piano,Hammond Organ,Mellotron
Rob Mitchell   Percussion,Drums
Jamie Muhoberac   Keyboards
Tim Pierce   Guitar
Pamela Sixfin   Violin
Kris Wilkinson   Leader,Viola
Evan Wilson   Viola
John Wittenberg   Violin
Carl Rabinowitz   Cello
Suzie Katayama   Cello
Bob Peterson   Violin
Matt Slocum   Acoustic Guitar,Cello,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vibes,E-bow
Rudy Stein   Cello
Leigh Nash   Vocals
Rachel Purkin   Violin
Eve Butler   Violin
Justin Cary   Bass
Monisa Phillips Angel   Viola
Jacob Lawson   Violin
Sean Kelly   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Hi String
Bob Becker   Viola
Dan Smith   Cello
Mario de León   Violin

Technical Credits

Van Dyke Parks   String Arrangements
Paul Fox   Producer,Orchestration
Doug McKean   Engineer
Carmen Rizzo   Programming
Allen Sides   Engineer
Jeff Tomei   Engineer
Kris Wilkinson   String Arrangements
Rob Cavallo   Producer
Marc Chevalier   Engineer
Paul McMenamin   Art Direction
Darren Waterston   Paintings

Customer Reviews