Divine: The Jazz Albums 1954-1958 [4 CD]

Divine: The Jazz Albums 1954-1958 [4 CD]

by Sarah Vaughan



Possessing one of the finest singing voices of the 20th century, Sarah Vaughan was already an established solo star when she signed with Mercury Records in 1954, and between then and 1958, she recorded pop material on the label's main imprint and jazz material on the subsidiary EmArcy Records, although there was some overlap between the two. This lovingly conceived box set collects all of the jazz sessions Vaughan did under the Mercury umbrella during this stay (she returned to the label for a second run between 1963 and 1967) spread over four discs, including Images, originally released as a 10" and then reissued as a full LP with the addition of five more cuts as Swingin' Easy, the self-titled Sarah Vaughan (with Clifford Brown, Herbie Mann, and Paul Quinichette), In the Land of Hi-Fi (with Cannonball Adderley), a live set, Sarah Vaughan & Her Trio at Mister Kelly's (with a dozen tracks added that had previously only been available on a Japanese import), After Hours at the London House (with Count Basie's horn section), and No Count Sarah (which featured Count Basie's full band but not Basie himself, thus the title). It all adds up to an impressive four years for Vaughan, and with the pop stuff mostly filtered out, this collection allows the focus to fall squarely on her buoyant phrasing as she defines and enriches a classic set of jazz standards. Few ever did it better.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/09/2013
Label: Verve Select
UPC: 0602537083527
catalogNumber: 001712702

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sarah Vaughan   Primary Artist
Cannonball Adderley   Alto Saxophone
Clifford Brown   Trumpet
Richard Davis   Bass
Freddie Green   Guitar
Grey   Trombone
Thad Jones   Trumpet
Herbie Mann   Flute
Billy Mitchell   Reeds
Joe Newman   Trumpet
Jerome Richardson   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Marshall Royal   Reeds
Ronnell Bright   Piano
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Joe Benjamin   Bass
Henry Coker   Trombone
Wendell Culley   Trumpet
Ernie Wilkins   Conductor
Frank Foster   Reeds
Charlie Fowlkes   Reeds
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Roy Haynes   Drums
J.J. Johnson   Trombone
Jimmy Jones   Piano
John Malachi   Piano
Sam Marowitz   Alto Saxophone
Sonny Payne   Drums
Benny Powell   Trombone
Paul Quinichette   Tenor Saxophone
Turk VanLake   Guitar
Frank Wess   Reeds,Tenor Saxophone
Kai Winding   Trombone
Snooky Young   Trumpet

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Kurt Weill   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Herb Ellis   Composer
Johnny Hodges   Composer
Thad Jones   Arranger,Composer
George Shearing   Composer
Horace Silver   Composer
Fats Waller   Composer
Ronnell Bright   Composer
George Kelly   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer
Ray Noble   Composer
Dick Jurgens   Composer
Abe Lyman   Composer
Vincent Youmans   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Hal Mooney   Director
Vernon Duke   Composer
Luther Henderson   Arranger
Ogden Nash   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
Jerome Kern   Composer
Nacio Herb Brown   Composer
Fred E. Ahlert   Composer
Gus Arnheim   Composer
Lew Brown   Composer
Johnny Burke   Composer
Irving Caesar   Composer
Eddie DeLange   Composer
Gene DePaul   Composer
Buddy DeSylva   Composer
Howard Dietz   Composer
Jimmy Dorsey   Composer
Dubin   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Ernie Wilkins   Arranger,Orchestration
Frank Foster   Arranger
Arthur Freed   Composer
Will Friedwald   Liner Notes
Johnny Frigo   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Johnny Green   Composer
Nancy Hamilton   Composer
Otto Harbach   Composer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Ray Henderson   Composer
Edward Heyman   Composer
Eddy Howard   Composer
Will Hudson   Composer
Bert Kalmar   Composer
Burton Lane   Composer
Johnny Mandel   Arranger
Hugh Martin   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Roger "Ram" Ramirez   Composer
Ralph Rainger   Composer
Don Raye   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Vincent Rose   Composer
Harry Ruby   Composer
Sarah Vaughan   Composer
Arthur Schwartz   Composer
Bob Shad   Producer
Frank Signorelli   Composer
Jack Tracy   Producer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
George David Weiss   Composer
Matty Malneck   Composer
Jimmy Sherman   Composer
George Treadwell   Composer
Ralph Blane   Composer
Arthur Johnston   Composer
Bob Fine   Engineer
Joe Young   Composer
Ann Ronell   Composer
Maxwell Anderson   Composer
Robert Sour   Composer
Frank Eyton   Composer
Irving Gordon   Composer
Seymour Simons   Composer
Don George   Composer
Gerald Marks   Composer
Harry Revel   Composer
John Blackburn   Composer
Lou Carter   Composer
Morgan Lewis   Composer
Ruth Lowe   Composer
Harry Owens   Composer
Karl Suessdorf   Composer
Sidney Wyche   Composer
Paul Madeira   Composer
Milton Samuels   Composer
Nelson Shawn   Composer
Leonello Casucci   Composer
Mayme Watts   Composer
Jimmy Davis   Composer
Public Domain   Composer
Raymond Hubbell   Composer
Joe Greene   Composer
Andrew Skurow   Tape Research
Caesar Petrillo   Composer
Julius Brammer   Composer
David Carroll   Producer
Fields   Composer
Mark Gordon   Composer
Timmy Rogers   Composer
Kohji Matsubayashi   Photo Courtesy
John L. Golden   Composer
Sujata Murthy   Publicity
Forrest Lockwood   Licensing

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews