Do Not Disturb

Do Not Disturb

by John BunchJohn Bunch


$10.95 $10.99 Save 0% Current price is $10.95, Original price is $10.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


While veteran jazz pianist John Bunch has always been of the swing era, he readily embraces bebop, the music of Duke Ellington and Dave Brubeck, and great show tunes. With a trio of guitarist Frank Vignola and bassist John Webber and no drummer, Bunch envisioned this combo ten years prior, recorded but did not release a session with them, and he revisits this format in 2009 with a wonderful result. Vignola fits perfectly with Bunch's highly melodic ideas, and gets him to improvise or accompany more than most "leaders," while they swim effortlessly through these timeless and full-bodied melodies of familiar mainstream jazz tunes and ballads. You might not expect Bunch to be adept at boogie-woogie, but there it is on the opening track, his original "John's Bunch," nor might you expect him to do a note-for-note perfect version of Charlie Parker's "Anthropology" in lockstep with Vignola. He unearths the title track, an Ellington blues/ballad, and pristinely interprets "Come Sunday," while versions of "Four" and "Doxy" are as laid-back and simplified as a relaxing day at the beach. There's absolutely no forced movement on Do Not Disturb, but rather an effortless swing and good feelings between these three excellent musicians, a testament to Bunch's long-lasting viability in authentic and substantive jazz modes.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/10/2010
Label: Arbors Records
UPC: 0780941140323
catalogNumber: 19403
Rank: 106665

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Bunch   Primary Artist,Piano
Frank Vignola   Guitar
John Webber   Bass

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Walter Bishop   Composer
Dave Brubeck   Composer
John Bunch   Composer,Producer
Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Sonny Rollins   Composer
Jerome Kern   Composer
Jim Czak   Engineer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Charlie Parker   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Charles Strouse   Composer
Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
P.G. Wodehouse   Composer
Brian Peerless   Liner Notes
Joe Young   Composer
Mat Domber   Executive Producer
Rachel Domber   Executive Producer
Richard A. Whiting   Composer
Mort Dixon   Composer
Iola Brubeck   Composer
Newell Chase   Composer
Luke Melton   Cover Design
Bill Moss   Engineer
Adams Lee   Composer
Heywood Dubose   Composer
Frederic S. Sater   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews